First person legs and body

Level design, models, animations, physics, etc.
37 posts Page 4 of 4
Duion
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:47 am
Why don't you just use the same model for both.
marauder2k9
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:48 pm
high fidelity animations in fp arms for weapons and such (finger movement etc etc) simpler animations for third person. I am getting a mocap setup soon so i probably wont need the separation of the two but most AAA devs separate them out still due to camera bleeding through parts of the mesh if the animation isnt perfect so its still good practice to remove those parts of the mesh and have the camera sitting just inside the head behind the eyes to give the proper viewpoint. This has been the usual for some time in a lot of fps games its also why in a lot of fps games there is no shadow for the playable character but for immersion reasons i want shadows on mine to suit the game style. Also if ur camera is locked to a bone that is in turn linked to other bones that have mocap movements applied to them the camera becomes really jittery and weird for the player
Duion
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:49 am
There is a simple checkbox where you enable the shadows in first person of the third person model, it works well and I use it. So I do not really understand your problem. It is kind of irrelevant of what you use in first person, the shadow will always work.
marauder2k9
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:30 am
Image

This was the problem when using the use 3rd person shadow

Image

and this was the problem with using the original mesh
Jason Campbell
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:15 am
I remember trying to get a mirror working and it was the opposite but same issue I think. You got it working though?
Duion
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:40 am
Then why does it work for me and not for you? What did you change?
marauder2k9
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:31 pm
I remember trying to get a mirror working and it was the opposite but same issue I think. You got it working though?
I got it working for what i wanted, i dont think a mirror would work though i will try and create a mock level and upload a few screens of it with mirrors and things when i get a chance.
37 posts Page 4 of 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests