programatically adjust soundemitter volume?

Scripting questions, discussions, etc
6 posts Page 1 of 1
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
  by fLUnKnhaXYU » Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:42 am
hello ,
Since im here anyway with my just posted issue with turretShape , Im gonna go ahead and post this new stumbling spot . The volume control listed in the sound emitters property panel in the editor does has no affect for me . I just encountered this while hoping to reduce a profile volume ie or eg or whatever a small camp fire which sounds like a roaring inferno . I haven't studied it very deeply and I am a bit unabashedly hoping someone might have a suggestion on programatically adjusting the volume . kind of strange thing that the option is in the properties but when i use Emitter.dump it shows no options for volume get or set . to clarify , as I probably should , this means ability to use the same profile at different volumes . thank you .
Steve_Yorkshire
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:30 pm
 
by Steve_Yorkshire » Tue Sep 08, 2020 1:14 am
Call the volume directly rather than a function to alter the volume - which seems a bit odd but hey ...
soundEmitterID.volume=0.5;
And apologies for not mentioning this months ago ;)
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
by fLUnKnhaXYU » Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:36 am
certainly no apology necessary and thank you for your time Steve .
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
by fLUnKnhaXYU » Wed Sep 23, 2020 6:04 am
that didn't work for me . Would it make any difference to mention I'm using ver 3.9 and I haven't tried your suggestion on 3.10 with which I usually have more luck with audio .
Duion
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:34 pm
I never noticed audio things being changed in any update.
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
by fLUnKnhaXYU » Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:55 am
Duion , I don't remember exactly the issue/s but choosing the openAL required a little editing of the preferences file , if I recall correctly . I wont say I didnt screw it up myself with a openALsoft driver or one of my haphazard approaches to who knows but I was left with the impression 3.10 was somehow stabler . At least I, f I recall correctly , the openAl driver was an available option . Sorry Ill not be able to answer any technical questions , ok? I will be getting back to some audio adventures though , eventually . Thank you .
6 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests