Torque2D on Patreon

2D version of the Torque engine.

Moderator: marauder2k9

63 posts Page 4 of 7
greenfire27
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:18 pm
 
by greenfire27 » Mon May 13, 2019 9:15 pm
I wanted to have an "Asset Manager" that handles particles and animations along with static images. The scene editor is probably separate but I could see there being button to jump to an asset in the Asset Manager.

I changed the event names from "Mouse" events to "Touch" events on the GUI controls which broke everything. I've been slowly fixing them and I haven't gotten to some to the controls used by the sandbox yet. There's other breaking changes still in the works as well, but that's the main one.
marauder2k9
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Tue May 14, 2019 11:08 am
Kind of like an all in one editor? There could be a way of having dynamic menus so like if u click on a particle only the menu items from the particle editor will show up, click on an animated sprite animation settings will appear etc
greenfire27
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:18 pm
 
by greenfire27 » Tue May 14, 2019 2:57 pm
For the Asset Manager I imagine a list of assets on one side and a list of controls on the other with the selected asset displayed in the center. So if you pick a particle effect, it's displayed in the center with the various settings for the particle effect on to the right of it.
marauder2k9
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Tue May 14, 2019 3:10 pm
I think we are thinking along the same lines, would each asset be attributed to a different project? So for example load a project and all scenes and assets attributed to that project load up in the manager or would it be all assets are just readily available without having to add them to a projects asset manager first?
greenfire27
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:18 pm
 
by greenfire27 » Tue May 14, 2019 4:58 pm
It would be all the assets in the default asset manager in the engine (so readily available). The assets for the editors will be loaded in a separate asset manager so they will not appear in the editor. This is actually happening already in the dev branch.

Also, the idea of loading a project was one that I struggled with for a long time. I finally settled on having the editors as more of an add-on for the game (which would not be added for the release of course) similar to the way the console is. Or another way of thinking of it is that we are just taking the console and extending it. It's a little bit of a paradigm shift from the old TGB but it saves a lot of effort that we don't have the man-power for. So the game loads as normal and somewhere in main it loads the editors which do everything they can to stay out of the global namespace and base asset manager. Of course, the editor is loaded as modules and if the game had modules with the same name that would be a problem. With that exception it should work great. I currently treat the Sandbox like the "game".

Also, I've set up a library fold that I want to have reusable modules in. I hope to create a "Module Manager" that can add modules from the library into your game folder. There's already code to copy modules so this actually might be easier than it sounds. In the future I hope to have a lot default functionality built as modules so that people can quickly prototype ideas. For example, a dialog box module for an RPG type game. I image after copying it the user will need to make changes but it will give them a quick starting point. For now the library just has the AppCore module in there.
marauder2k9
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Wed May 15, 2019 1:29 am
browsing the code i did see functions exposed to script for merging scenes and modules its pretty cool. After browsing through for most of the day it is remarkable what functions are exposed to script with a lot of options that aren't being utilized. Must be left over code from the editors.

Some of the example toys don't even make use of those functions such as multiple scenes on one canvas. dynamic guis quite a few actually. Would be pretty cool to have a base module that is a main menu that when play is pressed it loads a simple game or something.
marauder2k9
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:58 am
I have a working version of my game up on the AppStore now unfortunately had to make it with xcode and swift, but my android version is now made with torque2d (hell of a lot simpler than starting with an empty project in android)

Any ideas of how to integrate admob?
greenfire27
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:18 pm
 
by greenfire27 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:03 pm
That's cool! I hope it does well.

I don't know what admob is so I'm probably not going to be able to help you.
marauder2k9
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:38 am
its googles monetization platform
greenfire27
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:18 pm
 
by greenfire27 » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:48 am
Like microtransactions and such? Interesting. We should probably have code that can easily be added to the engine for these sorts of things.
63 posts Page 4 of 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests