Blender to Torque Update

Level design, models, animations, physics, etc.
2 posts Page 1 of 1
Steve_Yorkshire
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:30 pm
 
  by Steve_Yorkshire » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:54 pm
Update on getting Blender models into Torque as DAE. Just a few things I've noticed by paying attention to console spam.

Originally I just used the same COLLADA layout as Max with base01, start01, detail#, etc. (see image below)
Image

Turns out Torque can never find the detail markers - however importing with "detectDTS" or "TrailingNumber", Torque still identifies the mesh LODs from the trailing numbers and just adds it's own detail nodes automatically. Also you don't need base01 or start01.

Console informs you of this:
Object mesh "meshLOD300" has no matching detail ("detail300" has been added automatically)
Object mesh "meshLOD200" has no matching detail ("detail200" has been added automatically)
Object mesh "meshLOD100" has no matching detail ("detail100" has been added automatically)
Object mesh "meshLOD2" has no matching detail ("detail2" has been added automatically)
The following image example will import LODs 300, 200, 100, and 2 just fine, with the console log informing you that detail nodes have been automatically added for each.
Image

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If models are scaled using mesh object scaling (eg: xyz scale = 0.01) this will trigger a console warning when importing.
Warning: <bind_shape_matrix> in Armature_meshLOD300-skin <controller> is not invertible (may cause problems with skinning)
I am not sure this warning actually does anything, as I have yet to see any problems - yet, in the great crusade against console spam, if you go into Blender edit mode and set scale to 1.0 and then manually resize and reposition the mesh to the correct scale - this warning will cease. Protip: duplicate the mesh so you have some reference of the correct scale and original position).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Collada <lines> element in Untitled.008 is not supported.
Torque is complaining about the actual mesh geometry here and is referencing the actual "Mesh Data" of the object in Blender. You can discount the *.008 auto naming convention that Blender uses as the problem. This warning is caused by having an open mesh - eg: not hull sealed. So check those verts are joined!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This has been a Public Information Broadcast on behalf of Frazzled Blender To Torque Devs Against Console Warnings ... :oops:
Duion
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:56 pm
Why detail 16? I never understood that part. Some default models have lowest LOD at detail 2, but you can use anything. I use 1 I think.

Also I do not understand what bounds are for and why you have a shape file outside of the hierarchy.
2 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest