Work Blog - JeffR

  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 46
456 posts Page 6 of 46
chriscalef
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:21 pm
Sorry, this is a little embarrassing but what is our regular build process now?

I've still been getting away with using the Project Manager on Torque projects, and have actually never used CMake with a Torque project before. How do you specify what template you want to use? I tried just pointing CMake at the Torque3D directory because that was the first CMakeLists.txt file I saw, but that got me nowhere. Do we have a little writeup about getting started for new users anywhere? :-P
JeffR
DEVGRU
Posts: 957
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:32 pm
Haha, no worries.

http://wiki.torque3d.org/coder:compilin ... ndows#toc6 Got a wiki page for all that!

For 4.0, the project manager'll be coming back but with the cmake backend, so you'll only have to directly deal with cmake for a little while, thankfully ;)

As for selecting the template, there's a TORQUE_TEMPLATE field that you'd type the directory name of the template you're shooting for into before clicking generate. Once you do that and generate, if you build the install project, it'll copy the template files into place for you.
chriscalef
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:48 pm
Ah, awesome, thanks!
Johxz
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:51 pm
because we need more games like Thief in the world
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: true!

off-topic You already saw this game? Styx: Master of Shadows :D
JeffR
DEVGRU
Posts: 957
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Tue Jul 05, 2016 12:59 am
Oh man, I actually do have a copy of that game. Got it on a super sale deal, but completely forgot about it. I'm gunna have to give it a whirl.
Dwarf King
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:00 am
because we need more games like Thief in the world
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: true!

off-topic You already saw this game? Styx: Master of Shadows :D
Oh that looks very nice :D
chriscalef
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:28 pm
Ah, hey @
User avatar
JeffR
: any hints on what to do if CMake fails to copy the template files over, even though you have the right name in TORQUE_TEMPLATE? I got my main.cs created appropriately, but nothing else copied over. I did it manually and things seem to be working fine so far, but ...? Still A CMake N00b.
Timmy
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:42 am
@
User avatar
chriscalef
CMake will create a visual studio project called INSTALL, just do the build only thing on that and it will copy the files for ya. When building T3D you have two options really. 1) manually copy the template directory, if you do this you can leave the TORQUE_TEMPLATE blank in CMake and it won't even create that INSTALL project. 2)Set the TORQUE_TEMPLATE and build the INSTALL project and CMake will copy the template for ya. Personally i prefer option 1 but each to their own.
chriscalef
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:01 am
Ah, okay, I guess I blundered my way through option one already, but thanks for the info re: option two!
chriscalef
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:29 pm
So hey, one more CMake build question for @
User avatar
Timmy
and/or @
User avatar
JeffR
: what is the official method for choosing to include PhysX 2.8 or 3.2? Am proceeding with the brute force method of building the whole project with neither and then manually adding the desired files to my project, but is there a proper way?
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 46
456 posts Page 6 of 46

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests