T3D in the future

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
  • 1
  • 2
17 posts Page 1 of 2
andi_s
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:15 pm
After dabbling a few months in UE4, I am back at T3D. Somehow UE4 jsut did not click for me. So I am thinking of going back to T3D, and it seems there is a new release soon. However, as it for sure will take quite some time to finish a game (if ever ;-)), I have a question: T3D at the moment is still using D3D9. Will this be a Problem in the (near) future? I mean, will newer machines maybe not be able to run a T3D game? I know, there is the source, so it can be changed to use D3D11 or whatever comes later....however I know for sure that I will not have the skills to do this. Will D3D9 only be a Problem in the future?
marauder2k9
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:27 pm
T3D can already use dx10 and dx11 u just have to code it in yourself, there are a few gits with dx11 already implemented, not sure how far on they are but i think they work check azaezels git repo i think his has the dx11 git in it.

Just one thing, if u are going to code in dx10 or dx11 remember to put in an if statement that bypasses caps
Azaezel
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Don't have a DX11 fork up as of yet. I'll leave it to the various authors poking at it themselves to say more on that score.
marauder2k9
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:06 pm
who is it has the dx11 fork?
marauder2k9
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:10 pm
its lopuska https://github.com/Lopuska/Torque3D

Dont know how far on he is though
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:27 am
I touched on this in the 3.8 release thread once I got an OK to mention it.

Timmy's been doing work on Anis' DX11 and D3D9 refactor branches, to get them updated and rolling. He's been getting his work uploaded, and once it's all up, he'll open it up for everyone to help collaborate on. This should get us a baseline implementation of DX11 - it may not see tons of performance gains at first, but we can steadily improve it as we go. Having it in at all is the big first step.
Hutch
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:12 pm
by Hutch » Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:59 am
This should get us a baseline implementation of DX11 - it may not see tons of performance gains at first, but we can steadily improve it as we go. Having it in at all is the big first step.
rgr that one. I'm gonna reckon there will be some performance, considering drawcall overhead is def. reduced between DX9 and DX11 if your drawcall bound. Won't be as good as DX12/Vulkan/Metal but still should bring up to part with more-like GL drawcall perf.
Timmy
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:21 am
This should get us a baseline implementation of DX11 - it may not see tons of performance gains at first, but we can steadily improve it as we go. Having it in at all is the big first step.
rgr that one. I'm gonna reckon there will be some performance, considering drawcall overhead is def. reduced between DX9 and DX11 if your drawcall bound. Won't be as good as DX12/Vulkan/Metal but still should bring up to part with more-like GL drawcall perf.
What i have seen so far with performance is exactly what you said ;) . With less complex scenes DX11 outperforms DX9 (anywhere up to 20% range) but with huge complex scenes it's on par because other parts of T3D become the bottleneck and not the gfx calls. It's early days with dx11 so perhaps some more performance will be found, i have already fixed a few performance issues already.
Dwarf King
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:51 pm
After dabbling a few months in UE4, I am back at T3D. Somehow UE4 jsut did not click for me. So I am thinking of going back to T3D, and it seems there is a new release soon. However, as it for sure will take quite some time to finish a game (if ever ;-)), I have a question: T3D at the moment is still using D3D9. Will this be a Problem in the (near) future? I mean, will newer machines maybe not be able to run a T3D game? I know, there is the source, so it can be changed to use D3D11 or whatever comes later....however I know for sure that I will not have the skills to do this. Will D3D9 only be a Problem in the future?
Welcome back to the light side :)

DirectX 9 has been used to make many good games such as Skyrim and Stracraft II. Hence people would be very angry if they could not play those games. I find it very hard to believe that support for DirectX 9 will go away very soon.

I did some tests with Windows 10 and Torque 3D projects.. the game project that is runs fine in Windows 10.

Of course DirectX 11 is important as that is standard for all newer graphic cards now at days. Please also notice that DirectX 11 cards are backward compatible with DirectX 9 so you do not need to fear anything for now. Still then DirectX 11 is important and the news about T3D MIT version 3.9 will see DirectX 11 support is something that makes me happy.

Timmy you are the best :mrgreen:
Chelaru
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:53 pm
win 10, 64bit. 2560x1440 rez. And it works fine.
  • 1
  • 2
17 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests