USS Enterprise 64-Bit T3D Simulation

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
4 posts Page 1 of 1
PaulWeston
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:16 pm
by PaulWeston » Wed May 27, 2015 6:45 am
Hello everyone,

I can happily report that we now have a fully up-to-date 3.7 running in 64-Bit, with full AFX and advanced character kit integrated along with pathshape and guitexturecanvas/fxGuiSnooper. Also a few other little resource gems in there. It all works fantastic and I can't even make it crash if I try lol.

Here is some of the fun we are having with this exciting upgrade... These are just low-res caps for the web, final product will be sharper. Also, the FPS meter is low because I took these on my old test rig dual-core 4gb ram machine, and it's actually still totally playable :)

Thanks so much to everyone here who has helped us get this far, live long and prosper!

Cheers,
Paul


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Last edited by PaulWeston on Wed May 27, 2015 7:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
PaulWeston
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:16 pm
by PaulWeston » Wed May 27, 2015 7:05 am
The 64-Bit allows us to push past the 2 GB memory limit, and load in a ton of stuff.

Here is a cutaway with the hull removed, where you can see all the decks, doors, stairs, etc.

Image



And also, it allows the Oculus Rift dual-rendering to stand a chance, without crashing like it would in 32-Bit:

Image


...Now we go to work finishing up all the deck furnishings and activating buttons and consoles... I want to build some interactive original series episodes where excerpts play on the view screen and then you have to go do certain things. We can beam down to planets too - we built Cestus III and also the Vasquez Rocks, and we have the Gorn as an AI you can have a punch fight with.

It's going to be a really great game when it's done... Free project for the masses, hopefully it will get us noticed or maybe we'll get a license from CBS/Paramount to develop it further. They were not interested when we first pitched it about 5 years ago, but we have a pretty good working prototype with this so who knows :)

Anyhow, like I said above, this would not have been possible without all the help from the Torque community over the years. I have learned so much here, and look forward to continuing to push the limits of what I feel is still pound-for-pound the best engine to make games with.

Thanks to all of you again
buckmaster
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:02 am
by buckmaster » Wed May 27, 2015 8:35 am
Glad it's working. And congrats! It's been a long journey ;). I forget - is your project open-source? I'd love to use your level for profiling purposes. It really should run at better than 4 FPS, shouldn't it? :oops:
Jason Campbell
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Fri May 29, 2015 1:35 pm
That is awesome! Your team rocks.
4 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests