New Showcase Level

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
37 posts Page 4 of 4
marauder2k9
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Wed May 23, 2018 3:17 pm
even writing to you guys from my day job now lol :P

As you all are aware im making my final tweaks this week to hopefully get some fully featured screens up by the weekend. Hopefully you guys like what you see and hopefully it will tweak a bit more interest towards this little showcase. Although my questions above have gone unanswered i am going with my gut on them and just doing them whatever way i can to get the best results. One question i do need answered though and this is for doorways, is there a way to change the pivot point of an object? I have the pivot for my internal doorway set in max to below the centre of the hinges but when the model is imported it sets the pivot point to the centre of the object. It would make it a lot easier to position/stage these static doors where i want them to be without the need of constantly having to align the mesh up again to the door hinges modeled into the wall sections. Everything i have modeled is mostly modular except for static objects. All wires and cables are modular, all the railings are modular (pay no attention to the railing end piece in the photo above) Stairways are modular and so are some lights. Atm the bunker is made up of 1189 TSStatic meshes (of which about 200 are different models) i am working off of these pictures as my concept art http://pdf.bretagne.over-blog.com/artic ... 32080.html

I am following those pictures quite closely and hoping that it turns out to be a more decrepit rendition of it. Broken ceilings and broken walls were the earth has started to cave in on the bunker are more towards the exit of the bunker (to give the sense that not only are there actual threats from an enemy but time is also attacking the safety of the bunker)

If you guys have any input at all i would love to see it and would love to hear any methods u guys used to complete different tasks similar to what i am trying out here.
Jason Campbell
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Fri May 25, 2018 2:23 am
Wow, that's a lot of models. Performance is still ok?
marauder2k9
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Fri May 25, 2018 5:13 pm
Performance is still good on my machine lik yeah, havent really ran any sort of fps tests or anything but i havent had any lag when running through the rooms, the highest poly count model is actually the door shown in the screenshot above with 4000 polygons because of all the little details, i could probably get that down to 2000 if i was really trying to optimize though
Duion
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Fri May 25, 2018 5:42 pm
The performance issue will most likely not come from objects with too many polygons, but from the high number of separate static objects. Your total polygon budget is maybe 3 million, but your total drawcall budget is more like 3000. I don't know the exact numbers, but just so you get an idea. Someone is also working on a prefab feature or better instancing, which will solve performance issues from too many objects, but I don't know how far that is.
marauder2k9
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Fri May 25, 2018 6:22 pm
3000 really? im using zones though too so its not going to be rendering all those objects at the same time
Duion
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Fri May 25, 2018 6:30 pm
The limit is per scene, just open the metrics and test it. I don't know how good zones are, never needed them since your budget is so big, I mean you can have much more than 3 million polygons and 3000 drawcalls, it just depends what hardware you aim at.
marauder2k9
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Fri May 25, 2018 7:07 pm
this as a showcase, optimization isnt really a necessity for me here, just aiming for it to look good, youve never used zones? they seem to be working as required when i flow through them in the scene?
37 posts Page 4 of 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests