Page 1 of 2

osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:59 pm
by dakk
Hi all,
this is my first post; I'm making a project (started today) which will allow to create Torque3d levels from OpenStreetMap data. It's just a concept for now, this is a first result:

Image

Planned features:
  • Streets (of different types)
  • Terrain
  • Landuse
  • Buildings
  • Base free assets with buildings, plants and different road materials
The project is opensource, so you can follow the development on github: https://github.com/dakk/osm2torque

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:11 pm
by Duion
Looks interesting, can't wait to play Deathmatch on real life locations ;)

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:10 pm
by JeffR
Stuff like this is always nifty. I'm looking forward to progress on this :D

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:42 pm
by chriscalef
Glad to see someone else interested in this idea! I've done a fair amount of work in this direction, but haven't had time to finish it yet:

http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=400

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:38 am
by bsisko
How is progress on this project is coming along?

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:24 am
by HeadClot
Just thought I would chime in on this. Looks like SideFX Software are making a tool that may help with 3D open street maps.

https://www.sidefx.com/tutorials/osm-importer/

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:53 pm
by JeffR
Hey, nice find! That looks really slick.

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:45 am
by bsisko
Has there been any progress on this subject!

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:41 am
by marauder2k9
it definitely looks like it hasnt had features added to it in a couple of years going by the github but i think it works

Re: osm2torque: OpenStreetMap in Torque3d

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:59 pm
by bsisko
Are you saying that I can use the program to gather OSM data that will work in T3D as opposed to Houdini?