ShapeBaseImageData : firstperson = false, broken?

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
Sir_Skurpsalot
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:32 pm
by Sir_Skurpsalot » Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:30 pm
Does setting firstperson = false not actually do anything in a ShapeBaseImageData datablock? This came up because I am mounting a ShapeBaseImage to the players chest to show your rifle as slung when it is not being used and you can still see it in first person view, which I don't want.
Duion
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:13 am
Interesting question, I have iron sight aiming for weapons that duplicates the weapon datablock and in the iron sight version firstperson is set to false, but it does not seem to do anything, or I forgot what it does.
Maybe it is broken, did you look into the source code what it actually does?
Sir_Skurpsalot
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:32 pm
by Sir_Skurpsalot » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:22 am
I have not, but on here https://torque-3d.readthedocs.io/en/lat ... irstperson
It says "set to true to render the image in first person".
I guess a workaround might be to use an empty DAE as the shapefileFP to stop the third person model from rendering.
Duion
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:41 am
I meant to look into the actual C++ source code, but I'm too lazy and not that good of a programmer to see what the issue is there.

How I solved it for aiming is, that you zoom, which moves the gun out of the field of view, so it is basically gone and if not the rest is covered with a black gui and a crosshair overlay that covers most of the screen except the center.

And for regular iron sight weapons without scope zoom, the weapon is still rendered but moved infront of your eyes.

That was good enough as a workaround for me, alternatively you can use an empty model or maybe no model at all.
Azaezel
DEVGRU
Posts: 496
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Wed Apr 01, 2020 4:37 pm
for what it's worth, firstperson = false flips things on so that the third person model is used for rendering purposes instead of the first person model file, so if you want something not showing in first, but showing in third, hiding it would be part of the first person animation.
5 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests