Which correct version of visual studio 2017

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
8 posts Page 1 of 1
noemen
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm
 
by noemen » Thu Dec 26, 2019 2:57 pm
What version of Visual Studio do you use to build torque3D 10.1? Because I don't know what the correct version of visual studio 2017 is, whether it's 15 or 15.1 or 15.2 or ...
noemen
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm
 
by noemen » Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:34 pm
I saw it here now...
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D ... unctions.h
it's version 1910
Duion
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:44 pm
I use Visual Studio 2015
noemen
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm
 
by noemen » Thu Dec 26, 2019 4:24 pm
I use Visual Studio 2015
I know, but it's always nice to be up to date.
Duion
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Dec 26, 2019 8:05 pm
Torque has not been updated in a long time, 2 years or more, but that is another issue.
Bloodknight
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:58 pm
by Bloodknight » Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:43 am
The correct version is always the latest version since on the whole if there's any C++ fixes they are generally compiler fixes, you'd have to trawl through a lot of notes to get details, Rarely if ever do compiler updates make things worse, you will see some people complain, but these are usually because they've used hacks to work around issues previously.

TLDR keep your VS up to date, let the software manage its own updates
noemen
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm
 
by noemen » Sun Dec 29, 2019 2:52 pm
The correct version is always the latest version since on the whole if there's any C++ fixes they are generally compiler fixes, you'd have to trawl through a lot of notes to get details, Rarely if ever do compiler updates make things worse, you will see some people complain, but these are usually because they've used hacks to work around issues previously.

TLDR keep your VS up to date, let the software manage its own updates
thank you
noemen
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:46 pm
 
by noemen » Sun Dec 29, 2019 2:57 pm
Torque has not been updated in a long time, 2 years or more, but that is another issue.
Forgive me for the delay because I was offline. I am using my friend's internet to download the necessary. I tried to download Visual Studio 2017 offline install, but it is almost 35GB ... so I will try to download vs2015 ISO. In case I can compile Torque3D 10.1 on VS2015 without problems or do I have to use Torque3D 10?
8 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests