Grass Physics

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
subabrain
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:37 pm
Hello Again :P

ok guys i need your knowledge - i know its nt good to get free support but i have an important question :)

so now i want to make the grass moveable - so like a rigid body ... is that possible?

greetings and thanks ;)
Robert
subabrain
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:24 pm
Hi,

i have an idea - can i trigger the wind scale when i collide with the grass?
can you maybe help me with that idea :) ...

greetz
Robert
Duion
Posts: 1050
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:33 pm
The ground cover does not use the regular wind emitter that works with the forest items. What you can do is make the grass as forest items and then mount a wind emitter to your player or whatever, then it will only affect the grass in the radius of the wind, but I think this will screw over your current design with the groundcover grass.
Jason Campbell
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:34 pm
The problem with that idea is that the foliage fx has no collision that I am aware of. It seems, even when using a dts shape. Of course, it could be done but would probably take some serious engine changes. Even if you got a windscale variable worked out in script, all your billboards placed by that replicator, would move if say, you tied it to when you walked in the particular terrain texture that controlled that replicator. I have been thinking about this but have not come up with anything.
Duion
Posts: 1050
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:38 pm
I got an idea, if you have your grass mowing working, you can add another grass mowing effect that will replace the grass with another grass that has a higher wind scale, so the grass will move from the wind stronger if you touch it or come closer.
Jason Campbell
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:39 pm
Sorry to double post but if Duion' s idea works, that would be a pretty cool way to achieve the effect. I'm not sure of how performance would be impacted, also.
subabrain
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:44 pm
Hi There,

Thanks a lot for your help!

ok ... ill try this now :)

thanks and greetz
Robert
subabrain
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:48 am
Hi - thanks a lot :)

but now i need the command to change the sizeMin and sizeMax while the game is running via torque script - could you help?

would be nice - thank you very much :)

greetings
Robert
subabrain
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:29 am
hmm ok,

i get some way but i think its not right:
function set_gcover() {
   
   new GroundCover() {   
   
   Material = "grass3";
      probability[0] = "1";
      probability[1] = "1";
      sizeMin[0] = "0.1";
      sizeMin[1] = "0.1";
      sizeMax[0] = "0.5";
      sizeMax[1] = "0.5";
      windScale[0] = "1";
      windScale[1] = "1";

   };

}
maybe you could help :)

thanks a lot!

greetz
Robert
9 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests