Page 1 of 1

Network capacity

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:47 pm
by marcosnt
Hi guys,

God... i think last time i see torque is around 8 years, i payed a license long ago. Life make lot of new ways and make me far from torque 3d. Well happy to see torque 3d is not dead. I like to know of anyone could answer me about networking. How capable is, i projecting a multiplayer shooter to 80 players, how much work i need to do on build in network to make this possible?

Thank guys and nice work on torque!

Re: Network capacity

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:17 pm
by Duion
Nothing.

Re: Network capacity

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:05 pm
by JeffR
@
User avatar
marcosnt


Whoops, sorry this got passed by a different thread and I hadn't seen it.

To build on Duion's post, in theory it should work out of the gate as long as your server machine has the horsepower, and your network connection isn't dialup.

You may need to slim down the data sent per-update as you get higher and higher playercounts, but Tribes 2 could be forced to have over 100 players, so conceptually, the networking should support it just fine.