Waterplane soundAmbience

Scripting questions, discussions, etc
10 posts Page 1 of 1
Sir_Skurpsalot
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:32 pm
by Sir_Skurpsalot » Sat May 09, 2020 10:35 pm
So does the soundAmbience property for a waterplane not actually work? I selected AudioAmbienceUnderwater and nothing sounds any different...
Duion
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun May 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Yes, probably broken. Torque3D seemed to use a proprietary sound system before, but it had to be removed for it to be open source and there are still some things left from the old sound system in the code. I think it was called "FMOD" and it was used for all the ambient sound effects including the underwater one, so you need to develop an open source replacement for it or invent some workaround.
Dwarf King
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Sun May 10, 2020 8:32 pm
OpenAL is not an option? https://www.openal.org/
under audio.cs it says:
case "DirectSound":
if( %providerB $= "FMOD" || %providerB $= "OpenAL" )
Duion
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun May 10, 2020 9:49 pm
We already use OpenAL, it is not about which sound provider it is about what the sound provider can provide.
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
by fLUnKnhaXYU » Mon May 11, 2020 7:12 pm
]you might try this . The only thing weird is when I check the object "audioAmbienceUnderWater" , using , audioAmbienceUnderWater.dump() , its soundtrack field was empty so i added the the soundTest track in the Audioambiences file then executed the file in the console , rechecked and it then showed soundTest in the field But , when I exit the game and restart it the field is again empty and I have to exec() the file again . ?? Anyhow this worked for the audioAmbience for a waterPlane usind ver 3.10
//art/datablocks/audioProfiles.cs


datablock SFXProfile(SoundTest)      // ------OOPS edit I'd put in TestSound 
{
   filename = "art/sound/envrionment/amb.ogg";// ---------or whatever file you have
   description = AudioLoop2D;
   preload = true;
};



//--------------------------------------------------



//scripts/client/audioambiences.cs


singleton SFXAmbience( AudioAmbienceUnderwater )
{
   environment = AudioEnvUnderwater;
soundtrack = "soundTest";//---------------------------Add a track to this file+++++++++++++++++
   states[ 0 ] = AudioLocationUnderwater;
};[/code2
Duion
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon May 11, 2020 9:57 pm
I think it is the environment sound effects that do not work, because they require FMOD. The environment sound effect are not a file that is played, but they modify how all sounds sound, it is an important thing sometimes in game design to have a cave sound like a cave or a hallway sound like a hallway. But I'm not sure how it works, I only know those from other engines, like Half-Life for example.
fLUnKnhaXYU
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 am
by fLUnKnhaXYU » Tue May 12, 2020 12:36 am
thx Duion , Id like to ask if you know what became of this
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1422&hilit=openal
Duion
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Tue May 12, 2020 12:48 am
Looks like we had the exact same discussion in the past, but you have to ask him yourself. His last post was about that he made a pull request, so you have to look for it.
marauder2k9
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Wed May 13, 2020 10:07 pm
Exponential Falloff implementation is put here:
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1423

The reverb was added also in a pull request that i think is in the development branch of the engine now so you can put different effect types into environment triggers that will produce different types of reverb to emulate environment types in all sounds being played.
Sir_Skurpsalot
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:32 pm
by Sir_Skurpsalot » Fri May 15, 2020 1:33 pm
Ok cool, I'll have to try compiling that branch.
10 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests