vehicle tires

Scripting questions, discussions, etc
  • 1
  • 2
11 posts Page 1 of 2
Hodo33
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm
by Hodo33 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:09 pm
My vehicles tires don't seem to actually touch the ground.
I think the tire uses the bounding box for tire to ground collision. I have made the box smaller than the tire and still sits a little off the surface.
I have altered the radius, collision tolerance, contact tolerance and it just wont touch the ground. Anyone point me in the right direction?
marauder2k9
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:36 pm
If you havent modelled a col-shape for the type then it generates one automatically as far as i know, try modelling a cylinder as a col-mesh slightly smaller than they tyre and it should work
Duion
Posts: 1603
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:36 pm
Box wheels? Do they work?
Hodo33
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm
by Hodo33 » Fri Dec 20, 2019 4:36 am
I have made the collision mesh smaller than the tire and that didn't seem to work.
Bloodknight
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:58 pm
by Bloodknight » Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:50 am
youve compared your work vs the cheetah example and checked the differences?
Hodo33
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm
by Hodo33 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:27 pm
Loading a Cheetah in game and switching to object view does not show the wheels
Looking at the wheel it says collision type as bounds. As for the datablock I use same numbers and I do have a cylinder as collision smaller than the wheel so not sure..
marauder2k9
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:35 pm
for the wheels u have to actually look at the wheel.dae shape and the accompanying cs file. I don't think you should have wheels in the same model file as the vehicles body. Do you have the wheels separate?
Hodo33
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm
by Hodo33 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 11:28 pm
Yeah wheels are separate. I can't look at dae files.
marauder2k9
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 10:59 am
you should be able to look at them in the model viewer in torque?
Hodo33
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:34 pm
by Hodo33 » Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:22 am
I did but it only shows bounds as collision type. Not sure if the Maya file used to create it has the collision mesh or not. This is what I was going by wheeledvehicle.cpp

// Determinw wheel radius from the shape's bounding box.
// The tire should be built with it's hub axis along the
// object's Y axis.
radius = shape->bounds.len_z() / 2;
  • 1
  • 2
11 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests