Tutorial: How to compile the new version of Torque3D v3.9

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
  • 1
  • 2
20 posts Page 1 of 2
Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
  by Johxz » Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:30 pm
Tutorial: How to compile the new version of Torque3D v3.9

- 1) How to compile the new version of Torque3D Game Engine v3.9
https://youtu.be/uh0EFeh-Fyk

- 2) OpenGL and DirecX 11 - How to compile Torque3D Game Engine v3.9
https://youtu.be/09h72R4wm9Y

- 3) Bullet Physics - How to compile Torque3D Game Engine v3.9
https://youtu.be/3xTLFtU0ijQ

To compile you need:
- https://cmake.org/ (Min version 2.8.12 / Max version 3.6.2)
- https://www.visualstudio.com/downloads/download-visual-studio-vs - Visual Studio 2015
- https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=6812 - DirectX Software Development Kit - DXSDK_Jun10.exe (572 MB)

To play you need:
- https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109 - DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010) - directx_Jun2010_redist.exe (95.6 MB) *

* You don't need this if you are using OpenGL or DirectX 11

Official repo: https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D
Two main branches:
- master with stable releases.
- development with last update of features. Very stable some bugs.

Don't want to compile... want just start playing around???

You can download the latest binary from here:
- http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=665 (Compiled by me, latest dev version)
- https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/releases

Tested with the last commits on Jul 9, 2016 - 03a3d7
Last edited by Johxz on Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:48 am, edited 3 times in total.
Bloodknight
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:58 pm
by Bloodknight » Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:11 pm
Bonus points for not adding an ugly soundtrack

Nice to see a visualisation of the cmake process, would have been useful for me last year when i first got introduced to cmake.

I have couple of points i think could be raised/reviewed.

-- CMAke will create the folders as appropriate for its own build files if the actual folder doesnt exist, so creating the cmake folder is not needed.
-- Small amount of confusion may be cause over the needless copying of the template folder a) to a new template b) to the my projects folder; As long as the torque app name is the same as the folder name you chose under my projects you dont need to copy any files manually at all, the build install project does this all for you
-- More small confusion may be caused by you using two different projects in the videos, full and newfull

*side note I'd recommend making a new CMake build folder rather than using buildfiles and then delete the entire buildfiles folder unless you need it for some reason.

my generic complaint many of these video types is that 'shortcutting' cause confusion, eg not actually building the project (you can always edit out the time it trakes to compile and copy files), usually not an issue if the video is voiced as sometimes its explained that shortcuts are taken.

please take comments as helpful tips rather than nitpicking :)
Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:59 am
Bloodknight wrote: -- More small confusion may be caused by you using two different projects in the videos, full and newfull


Ah come on! I did in less of 10min that video, I can't wait to finish compile! :lol: I was trying to help someone quickly :roll:

But I don't think that anyone need to compile Torque3D.... I mean what for? we have binaries right now, stables and from dev updated :D unless someone need to change something in the code...

Bloodknight wrote: please take comments as helpful tips rather than nitpicking


Don't worry... BTW thank for the comment ;)
Last edited by Johxz on Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
xetra11
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:39 pm
by xetra11 » Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:19 pm
Thanks for that!
rlranft
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:11 pm
 
by rlranft » Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:41 pm
Hey, next time contact me if you need an ugly soundtrack for your video.
Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:18 am
my generic complaint many of these video types is that 'shortcutting' cause confusion, eg not actually building the project (you can always edit out the time it trakes to compile and copy files), usually not an issue if the video is voiced as sometimes its explained that shortcuts are taken.


hmmmm here reading again what told @
User avatar
Bloodknight
keep me thinking... there is a correct way to compile the new Torque3D v3.9??
Bloodknight
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:58 pm
by Bloodknight » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:11 pm
The vagrant tutorial on the wiki fails due to out of date software, I'm going to review a document I made a long time ago if for no other reason I'm pretty sure somebody somewhere linked it to the public lol
NekoDemon117
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:09 pm
by NekoDemon117 » Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:46 pm
Doesn't work for me. Probably going to have to wait for Torque3D 4.0 for the new project manager.

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:11 (project):
No CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER could be found.

Edit:

CMake version 3.6.0
Visual Studio Community 2015

CMakeError.log:

Code: Select all

Compiling the C compiler identification source file "CMakeCCompilerId.c" failed.
Compiler: 
Build flags:
Id flags:

The output was:
1
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 14.0.24723.2
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Build started 7/20/2016 9:51:37 AM.
The target "BeforeGenerateProjectPriFile" listed in a BeforeTargets attribute at "C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\NuGet\Microsoft.NuGet.targets (186,61)" does not exist in the project, and will be ignored.
Project "D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdC\CompilerIdC.vcxproj" on node 1 (default targets).
PrepareForBuild:
  Creating directory "Debug\".
  Creating directory "Debug\CompilerIdC.tlog\".
InitializeBuildStatus:
  Creating "Debug\CompilerIdC.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate" was specified.
ClCompile:
  CL.exe /c /nologo /W0 /WX- /Od /Oy- /D _MBCS /Gm- /EHsc /RTC1 /MDd /GS /fp:precise /Zc:wchar_t /Zc:forScope /Zc:inline /Fo"Debug\\" /Fd"Debug\vc140.pdb" /Gd /TC /analyze- /errorReport:queue CMakeCCompilerId.c
TRACKER : error TRK0005: Failed to locate: "CL.exe". The system cannot find the file specified. [D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdC\CompilerIdC.vcxproj]
 
 
Done Building Project "D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdC\CompilerIdC.vcxproj" (default targets) -- FAILED.

Build FAILED.

"D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdC\CompilerIdC.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
(ClCompile target) ->
  TRACKER : error TRK0005: Failed to locate: "CL.exe". The system cannot find the file specified. [D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdC\CompilerIdC.vcxproj]

    0 Warning(s)
    1 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:00.36


Compiling the CXX compiler identification source file "CMakeCXXCompilerId.cpp" failed.
Compiler: 
Build flags:
Id flags:

The output was:
1
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 14.0.24723.2
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Build started 7/20/2016 9:51:37 AM.
The target "BeforeGenerateProjectPriFile" listed in a BeforeTargets attribute at "C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\NuGet\Microsoft.NuGet.targets (186,61)" does not exist in the project, and will be ignored.
Project "D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdCXX\CompilerIdCXX.vcxproj" on node 1 (default targets).
PrepareForBuild:
  Creating directory "Debug\".
  Creating directory "Debug\CompilerIdCXX.tlog\".
InitializeBuildStatus:
  Creating "Debug\CompilerIdCXX.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate" was specified.
ClCompile:
  CL.exe /c /nologo /W0 /WX- /Od /Oy- /D _MBCS /Gm- /EHsc /RTC1 /MDd /GS /fp:precise /Zc:wchar_t /Zc:forScope /Zc:inline /Fo"Debug\\" /Fd"Debug\vc140.pdb" /Gd /TP /analyze- /errorReport:queue CMakeCXXCompilerId.cpp
TRACKER : error TRK0005: Failed to locate: "CL.exe". The system cannot find the file specified. [D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdCXX\CompilerIdCXX.vcxproj]
 
 
Done Building Project "D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdCXX\CompilerIdCXX.vcxproj" (default targets) -- FAILED.

Build FAILED.

"D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdCXX\CompilerIdCXX.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
(ClCompile target) ->
  TRACKER : error TRK0005: Failed to locate: "CL.exe". The system cannot find the file specified. [D:\Development\Torque3D-3.9\My Projects\newFull\buildFiles\CMake\CMakeFiles\3.6.0\CompilerIdCXX\CompilerIdCXX.vcxproj]

    0 Warning(s)
    1 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:00.35


Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:51 pm
The steps are very easy to compile torque3D.... I think this has nothing to do with CMake but with your visual studio, if I not wrong that mean that your visual studio can't find CL.exe, maybe something is wrong with your installation.

BTW is a new visual studio installation? Can you use CMake 3.5.2 just to be sure....

You don't need to compile Torque3D to use it you know....You need to modify the C++ code? if the answer is "no", then I recommend to use de binary....

You can download the latest binary from here:
- viewtopic.php?f=2&t=665 (Compiled by me, latest dev version)
- https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/releases
NekoDemon117
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:09 pm
by NekoDemon117 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:47 am
I got it working. It was my Visual Studio install.

I saw an update in Visual Studio, clicked on it, and it downloaded an .exe through my web browser. I opened it and it reinstalled Visual Studio 2015. I checked off everything just to be safe.

Took over three hours. Which it turns out is actually very fast because I forgot to unselect the Android development stuff, which from what I read on the internet is reputed to make the install take about 7-9+ hours. I'm running a 240GB Crucial M500, which probably saved me from it taking all afternoon and evening to install. (versus if I were still running my system off of my 5-year-old WD Caviar Black)

Then I did the CMake stuff again not expecting it to work, and it surprisingly did.
  • 1
  • 2
20 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests