Terrain edge seams.

Materials, textures, lighting, postfx
10 posts Page 1 of 1
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:26 pm
I'm using L3DT's mosaic feature to export very large terrains to T3D 1.2.
Terrain looks good in L3DT but not in T3D. There are seams to where the terrains join. I read that at the edges of the terrain extra polys are added to prevent the player from falling off the map and are the cause of these artifacts. The polys are not visible, but can be detected when a terrain brush is placed on those edges.
Is this right and is this fixed in the latest release of T3D; and if so, can anybody please point me in the right direction?
Jason Campbell
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:13 am
The last time I used it(3.5.1) there were no seems like you say. However the textures from L3DT were very low resolution. When I went to use my own textures, the targeting was weird(no blending) and I had to really mess with the terrain textures settings to get it to look right again. Try it out in 3.9. I would but I've gone over to full Linux.
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:45 pm
Here's a better illustration of what I'm talking about:

Image
Image
Image
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Thu Jul 14, 2016 6:58 pm
Ok, same problems in T3D 3.9.
Jason Campbell
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:10 pm
Ouch, too bad, other then seems that's great looking terrain. What size terrain is that ? It may be tied to size.
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:18 pm
I don't think it's the size of the terrains. The size of the terrains in the pics are 2048x2048. They are just two terrains placed next to one another. I tried it with lower res, such as 512x512, and same problem. I think that it has something to do with the extra polys that are added at the edge of the terrains as shown in the third image.
LukasPJ
Site Admin
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:25 pm
 
by LukasPJ » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:38 pm
There has been some work on this issue. This is the last PR that I could find on it:
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/pull/1542
This is the original PR:
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/pull/566

Dunno what happened to it though.
Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:59 am
I was playing few months ago viewtopic.php?f=10&t=512 the only problem I found, was to paint the last pixel.
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:08 pm
Hi Johxz,

Where am I supposed to paint? Because it doesn't work from within the Editor.
And what am I supposed to paint, the baseTexture?
LoLJester
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:58 pm
 
by LoLJester » Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:58 am
Aha! https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/pull/1542 fixes the problem!
Thank you guys!
10 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest