In-model HUD?

Materials, textures, lighting, postfx
8 posts Page 1 of 1
jamesonj
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:01 pm
by jamesonj » Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:42 am
Does anyone know if it's possible to do something like this in T3D? Rendering fonts and icons to a material of a model?

Image
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:50 am
jamesonj
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:01 pm
by jamesonj » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:13 am
I don't want a full blown GUI, though. Just something like this:

https://udn.epicgames.com/Three/RenderToTexture.html
rlranft
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:11 pm
 
by rlranft » Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:15 pm
Yes, render to texture is possible but not in stock - I've seen at least two different working examples but I don't have time right this moment to search. I suggest googling "torque 3d render to texture" and see what hits you get - I know there were items in the garage games Resources section somewhere and google is better than the old gg forum search.
saindd
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:20 am
by saindd » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:30 pm
rlranft
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:11 pm
 
by rlranft » Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:29 am
No, but that one's cool too - it lets you render "security cameras" on on-object monitors....

I think Robert Fritzen was in on the weapon one - or Az....
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:55 am
Azaezel's code on the guiDynamicTexture would be a good starting point, just remove/ disable the calls to handle the mouse. Its the most complete resource we have at the moment to do something like this
J0linar
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:50 pm
by J0linar » Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:14 am
this can be done with the guionobject
and not just that, by combining guionobject with fxguisnooper you get security cameras and rtt scopes

the stuff needed for rtt cam/scopes would be this
http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=92#p1883

and regarding in model hud, you can read about it in the guionobject thread
http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=92

i assume you would want to display the actual ammo of the weapon in the gui that is being rendered on the gun itself, thats doable.
check out Azazezel`s guionobect branch on github
https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D/tree/guiOnObject

gl and share how it went.
8 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests