New Editor

Moderator: andrewmac

43 posts Page 2 of 5
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:54 am
That is good. Really good. I like the snap on, snap off.

Keep up the good work!
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:41 pm
Not a very exciting update, but I restructured the repo and moved the editor to its own github:

https://github.com/andr3wmac/Torque6Editor

It leverages git submodules to keep a copy of the latest engine code from the main repo in its engine folder. This keeps the editor suite and wxWidgets out of the main repo. I'm managed to rework the build scripts to support this pretty easily.
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:38 am
Scene editor under development:
Image
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:34 pm
andrewmac is looking good. i think it would need a search box for the entities.
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:27 am
@
User avatar
Chelaru
: added search box. Not fully functional at the moment but I'll keep it there and fix it up later.

Search box, bounding boxes and ability to alter properties are in:
Image

Managed to port the majority of the node based material editor. Not 100% functional yet but all the nodes and connections are working, just need to connect it to the engine and add load/save:
Image
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:42 am
Material editor now loads list of material asset which you can open as tabs just like script editor. Also added a grid background the element will eventually snap to:

Image
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:47 am
Look woow. On the rotation, translation and scale part. When you click or select the object and the bounding box is rendered around the object it should show the x,y,z axis to be able from the editor, using the mouse arrow, to do those 3d operation. When this operation are made, a small box should be appear. For example: you do a rotation on the x. The box will show x(in 0.1 precision ) , y(in 0.1 precision ) , z(in 0.1 precision ) . And as the rotation is performed the x value will be updated in real time as the shape is rotated.


You should add the "Help" and "About" buttons :D . The "About" should say " andrewmac is the best and Torque rocks".



P.S. there is a small bug the bounding box is rendered over the object and you can see all the lines of the box.
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:48 pm
Chelaru wrote:When you click or select the object and the bounding box is rendered around the object it should show the x,y,z axis to be able from the editor, using the mouse arrow, to do those 3d operation. When this operation are made, a small box should be appear. For example: you do a rotation on the x. The box will show x(in 0.1 precision ) , y(in 0.1 precision ) , z(in 0.1 precision ) . And as the rotation is performed the x value will be updated in real time as the shape is rotated.


Yeah, a translate/rotate/scale gizmo will be added soon. The bounding box problem can be pretty easily fixed, though I have to switch to drawing 3D lines instead of 2D lines, which makes it less visually appealing, but I guess it makes the most sense for a bounding box.
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:12 pm
Hmm do you think that it would be nice for the use to be able to change the color of the box?
saindd
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:20 am
by saindd » Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:28 pm
Which toolkit did you use to make those nodes? They're awesome!
43 posts Page 2 of 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest