Linux Support!

Moderator: andrewmac

  • 1
  • 2
12 posts Page 1 of 2
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:08 am
I figured it was time I caught up the platform support a bit. I always knew the capabilities are there I just had to try it out and clean some stuff up. It's taken me a few days of trying on and off but I finally got something going today:

Image

There's still a handful of things to fix and test. I want to catch up the linux build before I continue on with anything else. That way I can test them side by side and make sure it's not just running good on windows, but on linux as well. I should mention this is a 64-bit build I'm running :D no point wasting time with 32-bit, if 64-bit will compile surely 32 will.
HeadClot
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 1:29 am
by HeadClot » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:29 pm
Woo! Linux Support :D
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:23 am
Making progress! Performance seems to be up to par, remember this is on my crappy laptop.

Image
chriscalef
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:52 pm
schweet!
Monkeychops
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:53 am
by Monkeychops » Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:12 pm
Are you planning to add Android and iOS support?

Personally I moved away from T3D because the platforms support never materialized... if this worked on the major mobile platforms too I can see it gaining a lot more traction.
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:38 am
Yep. Torque2D and bgfx are the two major components of Torque 6 and they both support iOS and Android. It's not even that difficult to expand to those platforms either. Torque2D has a platformIOS and platformAndroid. Just need to replace the GL calls in them with calls to bfgx and work it into the build system.

Once the engine gets a release for Windows, Linux and OSX I'll be looking to expand that roster with WebGL, Android and iOS support soon after.
spacepluk
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:12 pm
 
by spacepluk » Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:14 pm
Hi there,
I'm trying to compile the editor/engine on linux but build/genie_linux gmake doesn't generate any makefile. Any idea?
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:48 pm
@
User avatar
spacepluk
genie looks for build scripts in the current directory. Switch directory to build folder and then try genie_linux gmake.

I haven't compiled the editor at all on linux and it's been a bit since I've tested linux so there's a good chance it won't compile first try. Let me know what issues come up and I'll address them.
saindd
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:20 am
by saindd » Sun Jan 03, 2016 4:42 pm
Why you're using Genie instead of CMake?
andrewmac
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:45 pm
 
by andrewmac » Sun Jan 03, 2016 5:12 pm
saindd wrote:Why you're using Genie instead of CMake?


I really don't like cmake. Premake/Genie is really simple and really effective which is all I want out of build configuration software.
  • 1
  • 2
12 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest