T3D Mesh Exporter for 3ds Max

3rd party tools like asset generators, editors.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Fri Jan 08, 2016 2:00 am
During the last months I have create a special 3ds max exporter for T3D based on an existing batch export script called "BatchMan". It's pretty usefull for exporting models to T3D when the entire model is made with a single object in 3ds max. (Later I will post a variant I made which export the content of a layer and use the layer name for the T3D model name).

The T3D Mesh Exporter will export all selected objects as single model, it will also check for standard Torque3D nodes (base01,start01,collision-1 and colbox-1 for now) and include them in the exported model. Also, it will check for a Collision Mesh that match the object name with a ColMesh prefix and -1Suffix. Example, the object to be exported is named "Crate", if you name the Collision Mesh like "ColMeshCrate-1" it will be exported with the object.

How it work:

    Select the objects you want to export
    Open the T3D Mesh Export Dialog
    If it's the first time you export them or if the destination folder have change, you need to select the objects in the list and browse to export location.
    Once the destination is set, it is stored inside the MAX object so next time you open the .max file, the destination will still be assigned
    When all objects have a valid destination, you simply hit EXPORT and it will export all the objects individually to their destination

Options:
    By default the exporter will move all pivot to origin but you can disable that by checking the box: Keep objects positions (No origin)
    By default the exporter will always export T3D nodes found but you can disable that by checking the box: Dont include Node Structure
    By default the exporter won't popup the OpenCollada export dialog and will use the last settings but you can make the export prompt appear for each models by checking: Show the OpenCollada export prompt

Precautions:
    Since 3ds Max use Autodesk COLLADA as default, you need to export something as OpenCollada before using the exporter, you only need to make it once/session. Usually I select something random, and export it as OpenCollada in default export folder over the same file everytime. I haven't find a way to set the export script to use OpenCollada always...
    Another important thing that could be forgotten is to make sure everything you export is visible (even the nodes) else they won't be exported.
    When the move to origin option is selected, the objects will be moved back to original position after export but not the collision mesh which are all at 0 0 0 position. (Planning to fix it soon)

Future:
I have arranged it quickly for public sharing but there's some improvements that I'm planning. Here's a quick list:
    add the destination after the object name in list so it's easy to know the destination set for all objects. For now, you can see the destination by selecting object individually and looking in the browse text area.
    Allow to specify a layer that contain common things to be export with all objects. For example, you put your nodes in that layers and can add custom nodes as you need, like lights Nodes.
    Allowing to customize the associated name matching to be exported with the object (Like the ColMesh[objectname]-1 thing)
    Fix the Collision Mesh not return to original position but staying at origin instead

Here's a video showing how it work, sorry for the blurry HD quality...


I have attached the scripts to the post. The installation is like other macro, you have to run the script once (or simply Darg and Dropping it in 3ds Max ui). Then to add a button in toolbar, you right-click the toolbar, select customize. Then you go to ToolBar tab and you will find it under category #T3DTools (The # make it list on top).

Attachments

T3DMeshExport_v2.zip
(3.63 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
Jason Campbell
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:28 am
Very cool.Sounds interesting. Is this compatible with most versions of 3DS?
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:58 am
Jason Campbell wrote:Very cool.Sounds interesting. Is this compatible with most versions of 3DS?

I haven't tested it in older version but I guess it should work.

This is the script I based my T3D version on: http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scrip ... h-exporter

Code: Select all

Version Requirement:  3ds Max 2010 and upwards

So I guess the same requirement apply: 3ds Max 2010 and upwards
Dwarf King
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:54 pm
This is perhaps the only time in my life that I have regretted that I walked the Lightwave 3D road... Awesome stuff done their!!! :mrgreen:
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:51 am
Dwarf King wrote:This is perhaps the only time in my life that I have regretted that I walked the Lightwave 3D road... Awesome stuff done their!!! :mrgreen:

Well, 3ds max is very expensive... And I don't think there's way to get it for free until you get the money required :roll: :roll:

More than I know about 3ds max more I like it. It might be hard at start to figure how to use it for game modelling, but once you figured the 1% of feature you need, it's great.
5 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest