[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5150: file_get_contents(https://freedomsponsors.org/api/project/294): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 502 Bad Gateway
3.10rc2: flyingVehicle particles not working - Forums | Torque 3D

3.10rc2: flyingVehicle particles not working

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
Gibby
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:40 pm
  by Gibby » Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:02 am
Greets all:

Wondering if anyone out there has tested flyingVehicles with 3.10rc2. I have a added an aircraft model that has worked perfectly with every version from 1.1 to 3.8 to a new 3.10rc2 project using the Full template. Using only stock particles and without any changes to the code, I can mount the vehicle and it appears to behave correctly but the contrail and boost particles don't render. Anyone else tried this?

Note I have changed player.cs to allow mounting to flyingVehicles, and added a function to the vehicleMap in defaultBind.cs to enable $mvTrigger3 (which is 'turbo boost' for vehicles), but aside from that it's as close to stock as is possible. Particles don't render on Win7 Pro using D3D, nor on macOS using openGL.
Gibby
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:40 pm
by Gibby » Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:42 pm
I've posted the model I'm using here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=930&p=7504#p7504
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:00 am
Hey Gibby,

I just tested this by implementing your resource and model, and was able to see the contrail and boost particles without issue one all 3 render APIs. The contrails are pretty translucent so they were harder to see, but they were there. I did this on devhead. Can you try grabbing devhead and double-checking there? If it's still not working, what platform are you running and any other computer details. As far as I can test on my end it all works without a hitch.
Gibby
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:40 pm
by Gibby » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:17 pm
@
User avatar
JeffR
:

I did the same, and the particles work when you first mount the aircraft, but if you get out, and back in, they go away. Wondering now if its an issue with vehicle mounting scripts...

Will try with devHead tonight...
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:40 am
Didn't realize you had to do an unmount-remount first.

When doing that, I can indeed replicate the issue. My tracking of it indicates that for some reason, when we mount-unmount-mount, the flying vehicle is set to not be in the processing list, so stuff like processTick and advanceTime aren't called. the advanceTime is what calls the particle effects.

I haven't had much luck in pinning down why regular wheeled vehicles are unaffected, and what's breaking for flying vehicle. It's something that'll need some more poking through to try and nail down.
5 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests