Holes in terrain not working

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
  • 1
  • 2
16 posts Page 1 of 2
Mitovo
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:46 pm
by Mitovo » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:33 pm
Hello,

So, I decided to test out an in-progress build of a land feature I'm working on, with a quick and ugly texturing job, and I noticed a bug in the terrain system. Maybe it's known about, but I couldn't find anything about it.

Basically, the game engine ignores holes in the terrain for character collision, but it seems to work okay for other items; I threw out one of the mines, and it went through the hole as it should. The model is set down into the ground, with the area inside it emptied out, as it would be in an actual scene.

I thought maybe it was an issue with my model or something during export, so I did an A/B test... one with the heightmap terrain, and one without it. Without the terrain in the scene, it works fine.

Here's a couple short vids demonstrating it...
With Terrain
Without Terrain

Any idea why that might be happening?
LukasPJ
Site Admin
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:25 pm
 
by LukasPJ » Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:44 pm
MiToVo wrote:Hello,

So, I decided to test out an in-progress build of a land feature I'm working on, with a quick and ugly texturing job, and I noticed a bug in the terrain system. Maybe it's known about, but I couldn't find anything about it.

Basically, the game engine ignores holes in the terrain for character collision, but it seems to work okay for other items; I threw out one of the mines, and it went through the hole as it should. The model is set down into the ground, with the area inside it emptied out, as it would be in an actual scene.

I thought maybe it was an issue with my model or something during export, so I did an A/B test... one with the heightmap terrain, and one without it. Without the terrain in the scene, it works fine.

Here's a couple short vids demonstrating it...
With Terrain
Without Terrain

Any idea why that might be happening?


I don't know much about these things, but Player collision is handled differently than all the other stuff's collision (among other things it's a lot more precise I believe), so maybe there is a bug in the Player collision code?
RasterRon
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 am
 
by RasterRon » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:34 am
Hey MiToVo,

works ok from here using latest 3.10..



also checked with last 2 previous T3D versions and found no issues with it. Are you using visible or collision meshes?
Azaezel
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:54 am
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/issues/398 which physics library are you using? the default, PhysX, or Bullet?
Duion
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:47 am
I had the same issue with using bullet, but it only happens with custom phsyics, the default phsyics worked fine the last time I tested.
RasterRon
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 am
 
by RasterRon » Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:13 pm
Just got this tested and working with PhysX 2.8 SDK and versions T3D 3.8 and 3.10. I don't see any floating issues so far..



You should probably post more details about your setup.
Duion
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:19 pm
Then it is with bullet only.
Mitovo
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:46 pm
by Mitovo » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:20 pm
RasterRon wrote:Just got this tested and working with PhysX 2.8 SDK and versions T3D 3.8 and 3.10. I don't see any floating issues so far..



You should probably post more details about your setup.


It looks like you've lowered the terrain at that point, as you have the sandy ground at the bottom of the water/pool.

In my case, I've set the terrain to "empty", so there's actually a hole in the ground, which I have my 3D model set into.

So, the terrain is visibly not there, but it appears the collision is still being calculated for it. The collision on the 3D model is working fine; I have collision set to "visible mesh" on that. It's only when the terrain is present in the map that it's not working and I'm "running on air".

Also, the problem isn't even related to the 3D model. Here's a screenshot I just took where I'm outside that 3D model, on an area I'd just set to "empty", and am getting the same result.
Image

I don't recall which physics I set it up with, unfortunately. I want to say it's either Torque or Bullet, though.
Duion
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:00 pm
Then check what physics you are using.
RasterRon
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 am
 
by RasterRon » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:09 pm
MiToVo wrote:
It looks like you've lowered the terrain at that point, as you have the sandy ground at the bottom of the water/pool.

In my case, I've set the terrain to "empty", so there's actually a hole in the ground, which I have my 3D model set into.

So, the terrain is visibly not there, but it appears the collision is still being calculated for it. The collision on the 3D model is working fine; I have collision set to "visible mesh" on that. It's only when the terrain is present in the map that it's not working and I'm "running on air".


Ok got it. So here's the terrain with a hole cut through it, not lowered and still don't see any issues. I also have placed another terrain below it.



I could post or send the binary files if you would like to test them out.
  • 1
  • 2
16 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest