Development on Ubuntu 16.04

Friendly conversations, and everything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
26 posts Page 2 of 3
Dwarf King
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:56 am
Timmy wrote:Dual boot is not too difficult, i run windows 10, linux and macOS on my machine, all run perfectly happy along side each other. I got an NVidia gpu, so luckily i get nice fast official drivers on all 3 of them :D Good luck with it all.


Oh I guess I did not write that clearly. I have installed Ubuntu 16.04 as dual boot on the laptop(both on m11x and m17x that is), but the desktop has a UEFI bios so the approach is a bit different here. Not that it is difficult but it is just not boot with USB and follow the GUI's guidelines. It is more like remember to click continue and then enter Ubuntu terminal and do some work in it(I forgot that in the first run and got a not boot option and only windows 10 boot... hence annoying).

I guess I am with time gonna go for some Nvidia gpus as it seems they love Linux a bit more :D
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:46 am
Yeah i got the triple boot with a UEFI bios, no dramas with either bios type.
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:40 am
Oh yeah if you do end up using Qt Creator grab the copy from here and not your local package system, they are often rather out of date for qt creator. https://info.qt.io/download-qt-for-application-development just choose opensource, you only ever need to select Qt Creator with the installer, don't need the other Qt stuff (unless ya plan on using it).

Here is a dark theme based of the dark theme in visual studio if ya like that kind of thing https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0tHSJ8eQYh6V1V1ZWhLWU5wWXc , screenshot from mine below. It also has built in cmake support, that is handy.

Image
Dwarf King
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:52 am
Timmy wrote:Oh yeah if you do end up using Qt Creator grab the copy from here and not your local package system, they are often rather out of date for qt creator. https://info.qt.io/download-qt-for-application-development just choose opensource, you only ever need to select Qt Creator with the installer, don't need the other Qt stuff (unless ya plan on using it).

Here is a dark theme based of the dark theme in visual studio if ya like that kind of thing https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0tHSJ8eQYh6V1V1ZWhLWU5wWXc , screenshot from mine below. It also has built in cmake support, that is handy.

Image


Thanks @
User avatar
Timmy
I shall check it out.

About AFX:
Okay now that all my awesome machines are on the Ubuntu rocks and that I have seen how smooth and awesome(I mean it feels damn smooth) the Torque 3D MIT version 10 Linux binaries on the desktop my next question is...

Has any of you ported or found an awesome way to make AFX work? I assume that it means making some OpenGL calls instead of DirectX 9 calls in regards to shaders etc... Also I am no engine programmer here and certainly not a OpenGL or DirectX Ninja what so ever.

Please feel free to drop a message in here about that. Calling out @
User avatar
JeffR
:mrgreen:
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:37 am
Pretty sure @
User avatar
Azaezel
has an afx branch here on his repo https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D .. not sure the status of it or how up to date it is.
Jason Campbell
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:51 am
 
by Jason Campbell » Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:42 pm
I've been Linux only for over a year(now on Mint 18.1) and have since ported Bryce's Tactical AI Kit to 3.10. I just wanted to say that Code::Blocks is what saved the day when compiling. I probably should have tried QT Creator a bit more. For an editor I use Atom because you can search the whole project for keywords, really comes in handy. jEdit's TS plugin looks so promising but for some reason it has a problem loading the changes I make. It;s too bad because it is set up a lot like Torsion. I have not tried the TS editor that was posted here. The instructions for compiling T3D in Linux are fine from the wiki page.
Azaezel
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:29 pm
Timmy wrote:Pretty sure @
User avatar
Azaezel
has an afx branch here on his repo https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D .. not sure the status of it or how up to date it is.


https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D/tre ... us_devhead not 100% up to date, and likely will not continue to play solo-maintenance-monkey on that once we hit E/C given the spiderweb nature of it hooking onto the core classes, and E/C by nature pretty much obliterating those, but should be a largely workable starting point for now.
Dwarf King
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:54 am
Azaezel wrote:
Timmy wrote:Pretty sure @
User avatar
Azaezel
has an afx branch here on his repo https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D .. not sure the status of it or how up to date it is.


https://github.com/Azaezel/Torque3D/tre ... us_devhead not 100% up to date, and likely will not continue to play solo-maintenance-monkey on that once we hit E/C given the spiderweb nature of it hooking onto the core classes, and E/C by nature pretty much obliterating those, but should be a largely workable starting point for now.


@
User avatar
Azaezel

I did a install with Cmake and code::block as the tutorial in the Youtube video showed. It works fine with the AFX branch you have. Except that the AFXDemo templates throws a Fatal error in Engine/source/gfx/gl/gfxGLShader.cpp @ 665 when I lunch the Torque application... Damn... The other templates seems to run just fine.
Azaezel
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:33 am
Dwarf King wrote:@
User avatar
Azaezel

I did a install with Cmake and code::block as the tutorial in the Youtube video showed. It works fine with the AFX branch you have. Except that the AFXDemo templates throws a Fatal error in Engine/source/gfx/gl/gfxGLShader.cpp @ 665 when I lunch the Torque application... Damn... The other templates seems to run just fine.

just copy the shaders dir over from full.
Dwarf King
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:30 am
Azaezel wrote:
Dwarf King wrote:@
User avatar
Azaezel

I did a install with Cmake and code::block as the tutorial in the Youtube video showed. It works fine with the AFX branch you have. Except that the AFXDemo templates throws a Fatal error in Engine/source/gfx/gl/gfxGLShader.cpp @ 665 when I lunch the Torque application... Damn... The other templates seems to run just fine.

just copy the shaders dir over from full.


@
User avatar
Azaezel

Ahhhh! I remember that from windows as well :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Thanks :D
26 posts Page 2 of 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests