First person legs and body

Level design, models, animations, physics, etc.
29 posts Page 2 of 3
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:39 pm
yea arms would be basically what the fp arms are at the moment
Duion
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:32 pm
So you have to load two separate models into the first person? Cannot imagine right now how this should be done.
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:34 pm
the same way it is done already just the first lod of the 3rd person model that renders along with the first person arms would be the one without the head and arms
Duion
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jul 05, 2015 11:05 pm
I think this has to be modded, since I don't think Torque supports that by default.
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:06 am
I think torque already uses the 1st lod of the 3rd person model for this im not sure, the only thing i think should present a problem would be the shadows, shadows will have to come from the next lod mesh

Image
Duion
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:24 am
Your soldier has 4 arms, you see the problem now?
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:36 am
which is why i posted the picture of the valve resource
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:38 am
Image

^^ like this you see? no arms in 3rd person mesh, i think this should be the first lod model for it to work properly so it doesnt make 4 arms in first person view
Nils
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:32 am
 
by Nils » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:52 am
Get where you're aiming at marauder2k9, it's a good idea!

A problem though is that if you swap the TP mesh with this in a multiplayer game it will be visible to other players. It will include some code changes to make this work properly.

Instead of creating a separate mesh without arms and a head you could also use skins. You then just create the diffuse map with an alpha channel where the arms and head are transparent. The TP material would not use transparency but the FP legs material would. This way you can save the extra polys and work you'd need for a separate mesh!

// Material for the TP body
singleton Material(base_CharacterMat)
{
diffuseMap[0] = "art/actors/actor_diff.dds";
}

// Material for the FP legs
singleton Material(legs_CharacterMat)
{
diffuseMap[0] = "art/actors/actor_diff.dds";
alphaTest = "1";
alphaRef = "48";
}

Further if you manage to render the FP legs material on the client side only, and show the TP material for other players you'd solve the above problem as well.
Duion
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:09 am
But why not use a model with arms?
29 posts Page 2 of 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests