TorqueLab - Revamped Torque3D editor (under development)

  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
92 posts Page 8 of 10
marauder2k9
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:36 am
by marauder2k9 » Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:56 am
JeffR wrote:I'd made a passing mention of it in the 3.8 announcement blog as a goal for 3.9, but the plan is to start work on a node-based material/shader authoring interface and an updated shadergen.

I'd gotten started on the node-graph ui stuffs, most of the work is trying to figure out exactly how to design the new shadergen system to operate to generate everything. I've got some stuff I'm doing some prelim R&D on the subject for, and once I have something a provable, I'll be posting an update about it.

If you guys have any ideas or feedback on how you think it should operate, I'm completely all ears. If we can hammer out a general approach, it'd be easier to iterate the specifics of the implementation.


+1 million :D

Is shadergen just there to generate the procedural shaders? or is it just like an interfaces between shaders and the render code?
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:38 pm
Shadergen just generates the procedural shaders.

The material classes are largely what act as the binding between the shaders and the classes to be rendered for the procedural shaders. Classes that utilize the common, pre-written shaders like the water classes just call to the shaders directly.
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:22 am
JeffR wrote:I'd made a passing mention of it in the 3.8 announcement blog as a goal for 3.9, but the plan is to start work on a node-based material/shader authoring interface and an updated shadergen.

That sound good :) That will save me time to maybe get an official release someday....

Here's a new WIP video showing the SceneEditor special tools to handles TSStatic and Prefabs. Nothing there is final but I think it's a good start for those who want to work with prefab kit. I have start some work on a "Bunker Construction Kit" for a side project and the current TorqueLab progress is aimed toward easy construction kit management.

The new feature I like the most is the tiny button in the File Browser that make it navigate to the selected objects folder (TSStatic and Prefabs). It's also work with the material editor so you can quickly access the active model folder to get the textures files. The "Prefab creator tool" is also quite usefull but still need some enhancements, it make it easy to create a prefab for a specific object (EX: With a single 4x4 unit floor object, you can pack it as a 8x8 unit floor with 4 models and it will be store beside the 4x4 floor model (or anywhere..)).

I have also embed the drag cloning tool in the Tools section because that Popup get annoying when you only need it few times. Now if I could figure how to make a preview for the cloned objects, it would help getting the right amount of copies needed.

So here's the new video, I changed the production method a bit to faster video creation using YouTube annotations.


Also I have removed the "Universal Scene Objects Tree" from the side bar. I didn't like it and I don't need to add unneeded complications for now. My goal for now is to adapt TorqueLab to fit with my needs, later I would make it fit for anybody needs if requested... :roll:
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:00 pm
For the first time, I started playing with the Zone, Portals and OcclusionVolume objects. They are very good tools to optimize a level with many objects but I found them quick difficult to manage using the editor scaling or the ConvexShapes conversion options so I started exploring alternate way to create them for my needs.
At first, I started working on a system that would take the selected objects bounds and convert them to an occluder shape but I then figured out that I could simply use the current WorldEditor selected area bounds so I could use anything in the levels to define the limits of the Occluder shape to be created. I really like the result and I think it help a lot to create Zone,Portals or OcclusionVolume that fit precisely the wanted area,

Here's a quick videos showing the initial implementation of the new system to create Occluders. Now, my plan is to work on a system that will make managing the levels Occluders easily from the SceneEditor. Instead of making extra plugins for such needs, I will work on a SceneEditor "sub-plugins" system that are adapted for specific needs.

The video is an early implementation and contains some issues that I have cut-out. Also, I notice a weird issue that make the top TSStatic of a occluded shape to not render until the level get reloaded...

It's my first experience using those Zone,Portals and OcclusionVolume from T3D so if any of you have suggestion for better usage please let me know.
Duion
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:56 am
Did you modify the zones and portals or are you just playing around?
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:25 am
Sorry for the lack of updates about TorqueLab, I have been distracted with some learning to improve my modelling skils. I'm working on levels for a unnofficial game project called "Dark Territory" which would be used for personal Portofolio. I have no intention to make it an actual game for now. (I'm mentionning it because it will be shown in future TorqueLab progress videos.)

Duion wrote:Did you modify the zones and portals or are you just playing around?

Do you mean if I modified the Zones and Portals code? If so, then no. I only added a better way to quickly add portals,OcclusionVolumes and zones to a level.
-------------------------------
About TorqueLab, I have been adding some needed features as I was working on my new art works but I still need to update the UI before they could be use by anyone so I guess I'm now further away from a eventual public release of TorqueLab. I will try to get back on track by fixing the new bugs and updating the UI so I can work on a public release. I'm sorry about it... I'd like to provide a stable release but that require a lot of work and my time is quite limited... Also, it will require to write a decent documentation which is definitly not my cup of tea.(Hope this expression work in english).

Anyway, I will do my best to make it stable again and to make it available for those willing to try but at start it won't come with documentation. I will try to make most features intuitive so anyone can figure how the new features works.
-------------------------------
I have record a new video about one of my favorite TorqueLab feature: The FileBrowser. It now support adding favorites folders so you can quickly access contents in the folders you frequently use. Also, I have improved a little the listing of images which can now be used as the file icons instead of generic image icon. There's also an options to only list the diffuse images (_d suffix in my case) which is quite usefull when working with the material editor automatic texture maps updates.(It check for predefined suffixes for the different texture maps and automatically add them to the material if found, so in my case, I simply drag the diffuse (_d) and the normal(_n),Smoothness(_smo), AO(_ao) and Metallic (_met) get updated directly).

It's just a quick update to let you know that my TorqueLab project isn't dead... I will try to post updates more frequently from now as my modelling learning rush is mostly done.
RasterRon
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 am
 
by RasterRon » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:20 am
I'm planning to do a few changes on the Torque editor myself, but this looks great Mud-H! Keep it up :)
Mud-H
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:08 pm
by Mud-H » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:22 pm
RasterRon wrote:I'm planning to do a few changes on the Torque editor myself, but this looks great Mud-H! Keep it up :)


Thanks for your good words! Always appreciated.


Also, I have been thinking about my never ending TorqueLab project and I think it could be a good idea to make a Lite version by simply adding TorqueLab major features to the Stock Editor with fewest modifications possible. I would port the Dark UI and also some features to the stock editor so the community can use them. I think it would be much more simple than working on a full features TorqueLab release.
TorqueLab also became more than a simple editor and have some features that work in relation with the game scripts which make it even harder to make a release. For example, last month I created an Ambient Group Manager which allow to store different environment objects settings into a file beside the mission files, then you can quickly change ambient in your level( SunnyDay, CloudyDay, RainyDay, Dawn, Night,etc). But most of the scripts is outside TorqueLab as it need to be accessible from the game itself...

Let me know what you think about the TorqueLab Lite which would simply be the stock editor with some enhancements borrowed from my TorqueLab project. My plan would be to start with the UI and the SideBar component(FileBrowser, the VIS Settings and the Creator(which might be removed since mostly same as Stock Editor Creator). It's mostly what I was planning at start but I was facing many issue that make it hard to tweak the Stock editor but now that I know everything about it, I know some workaround to adapt it.

I will start investigating the idea today and you are welcome to list some feature from TorqueLab you'd like to see in the Lite version.
RasterRon
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:36 am
 
by RasterRon » Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:56 am
Great, will definitely check this out. Thanks. :)
Chelaru
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Fri Jan 08, 2016 8:10 pm
Good work Mud-H . The Lite version is a good idea.
  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
92 posts Page 8 of 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest