Page 4 of 4

Re: Torque 3D 3.10 Released!

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:46 pm
by JeffR
Yeah, related but not quite the same. When I downloaded the binary, it threw the 'unidentified developer' shindig (pretty sure it's purely a signing issue, not "other machine cooties" in this particular case because I uploaded to github straight from the mac), but you can go into your security settings and specifically OK it to run. The problem is, is that ALL the game files are flagged as quarantine, which presumably prevents quarantined files from interacting with other files(From my reading, quarantine is intended to prevent trojan horse attacks and worms), so the app can be run, but it can't interact with anything, so it can't find the other files necessary to actually initialize.

Removing the quarantine file lets it run normally. I'm unsure if signing the app will make the archive also read as fine, but I'm checking into it. May need to have the app signed(which isn't a big deal) and also let xcode produce the archive so it doesn't get uppity upon download.

Re: Torque 3D 3.10 Released!

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:00 am
by Gibby
odomcl22 wrote:Still struggling with this release. I tried using precompiled, but got an error shown below:

Fatal-ISV: (/Users/jeff/Desktop/Torque3d-development2/Engine/source/platformMac/macFileIO.mm @ 654

Platform::getExecutablePath - Failed to find main.cs!

I cannot find a solution anywhere. So, I want to compile myself. However, I don't know the steps to do that with Xcode. Does anyone have the basic steps?


I did a quick tutorial on compiling 3.10 for macOS here:

http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=954

Should get you going...

Re: Torque 3D 3.10 Released!

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:46 pm
by odomcl22
Hello All

Thanks for the follow up. Been traveling for work (as a professional I work for US Dept of ED) and it has been taking away from my personal hobbies such as this. I will give this all a good read and try. Thanks again. To answer the earlier question(s)--yup the extraction went fine. If I go inside the package content and run the executable it works just fine (terminal running in background). Not sure why this is happening. Because it work fine from my wife's mac and no workaround is needed. Likely a setting on my machine.

Re: Torque 3D 3.10 Released!

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:49 pm
by odomcl22
JeffR wrote:Quick follow-up on this: but it looks like the binaries are being bit by something in the upload/download process and MacOS is deciding to quarantine the files, which prevents them from working properly. I remember @
User avatar
Azaezel
mentioning one of their guys running into this as well in retrospect, but I'm not sure where the tangle-up would be coming from as the archive is uploaded right off the mac.
Best I can think off-hand is when downloading, because it's not signed and you have to manually OK it with the OS security settings, MacOS is auto-flagging the files for quarantine.

I'll keep poking around to see how we can deal with that so it's a non-issue going forward and then get the binaries re-uploaded once I do.

For the moment, you can either compile it yourself, or you can remove the quarantine attribute by opening terminal, navigating to where the binaries folder is, and typing in:

Code: Select all

xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine Torque3D-310-MacBinaries


Assuming that the extracted folder name from the archive hadn't changed. That should remove the quarantine and let it run normally.



The above worked just fine. Thank you to all for helping out. I am going to watch the video on compiling as it may be helpful in the future. Thanks!

Re: Torque 3D 3.10 Released!

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:16 am
by JeffR
Yeah, no worries!

I should have the 'How to compile on MacOS' article up on the wiki tonight, and I'm looking into how apple wants their applications/archives properly signed to avoid this speedbump in the future, so thanks for noting the weird behavior :)