Torque 3D 3.9 Release Candidate

39 posts Page 4 of 4
Hutch
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:12 pm
by Hutch » Tue Jul 05, 2016 4:12 pm
macosx branch. the cocoa branch should probably not be used as that was when I was being stubborn on SDL as it was still unstable and thinking about just porting everything. I also broke some functionality in the branch as well :l. Probably just use the macosx branch. It needs to be pulled up to date with devhead and tested, so that should probably be the first thing. Then SDL functionality, get it working with 32bit, followed by the transition of deprecating like *all* of platformMac folder as its carbon based, and then transition to cocoa. If you have any questions just ask and I'll try to clarify.
Hutch
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:12 pm
by Hutch » Tue Jul 05, 2016 4:32 pm
I can confirm that it compiles and runs with the 10.11 latest SDK using XCode 7.0.1 and MacOS 10.11.5.

You need to do 2 things in CMake:

1. set the CMAKE_OSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET property to 10.9
2. set the CMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES property to i368

I will not recommend supporting below 10.9.5

Note that you will get a CPU fatal error. Well...it's not fatal as its just platform detection, and fatal errors on OSX are broken and don't abort the process. Just press OK and it will continue to run :D
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Sun Jul 10, 2016 1:44 pm
Been working on getting the mac port all up and running and it's getting pretty close now. Will see if we can sneak it into 3.9, if not it won't be far behind.

Image
Bloodknight
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:58 pm
by Bloodknight » Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:21 pm
that looks a massive improvement over the last screenies i saw for macs
Skipper
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:25 pm
by Skipper » Wed Jul 13, 2016 6:15 am
Wow Timmy that looks great.

If you need any help with testing please let us know.

I don't have a Mac but some of our users do and they are pretty eager to help out with some beta testing of our game environment.
They are not all tech savvy though but at least they are willing, if you can give them some clear instructions about what they need to do to build it and get it installed then we may be able to help.
:D
lowlevelsoul
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:02 pm
by lowlevelsoul » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:23 pm
So I have a Mac and I'm willing to do some work. I checked out the repository from Jeff's repository, but CMake has a bit of a fit when generating a project for me to use. What's the state of the 3.9 development branch? Is it worth checking that out to test?
Azaezel
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:41 pm
lowlevelsoul wrote:So I have a Mac and I'm willing to do some work. I checked out the repository from Jeff's repository, but CMake has a bit of a fit when generating a project for me to use. What's the state of the 3.9 development branch? Is it worth checking that out to test?

https://github.com/rextimmy/Torque3D/tree/mac_port
lowlevelsoul
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:02 pm
by lowlevelsoul » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:58 pm
Azaezel wrote:
lowlevelsoul wrote:So I have a Mac and I'm willing to do some work. I checked out the repository from Jeff's repository, but CMake has a bit of a fit when generating a project for me to use. What's the state of the 3.9 development branch? Is it worth checking that out to test?

https://github.com/rextimmy/Torque3D/tree/mac_port


Cool - although I can't check it out - I think rextimmy has to allow me to have access. I'l download the zip for now and take a look at what's going on.
Azaezel
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:10 pm
lowlevelsoul wrote:Cool - although I can't check it out - I think rextimmy has to allow me to have access. I'l download the zip for now and take a look at what's going on.

https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D ... 9694171e12
39 posts Page 4 of 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest