[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5150: file_get_contents(https://freedomsponsors.org/api/project/294): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 502 Bad Gateway
Torque 3D 3.8 Release Candidate - Forums | Torque 3D

Torque 3D 3.8 Release Candidate

44 posts Page 1 of 5
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Sun Sep 06, 2015 5:25 pm
Hello everyone!

It's been mere 2 months since 3.7 came out but we've all moved at a break neck pace in that time, and already find ourselves poised for the next.

As I'd mentioned in the progress update, we intentionally set a very aggressive timeline on 3.8 to try and keep focus, and get a feel for how much can be pushed through when that focus takes hold - and also because there were some fairly large issues in the 3.7 release we had not properly caught and tested.

This set the theme for our work on 3.8: cleanup and stability. Linux was a major factor of this: due to oddities with drivers, and minimal testing ability, some pretty big issues slipped past us for 3.7, and while that's never a good thing, it did teach us a lot. A lot of new Linux users, and a few old-hat users setting up Linux environments, allowed us to be in a MUCH better testing position for issues such as these.

This is part of what we ran over by a little bit: getting some of those major problems resolved, a lot of which came from the still-in-progress SDL implementation, took a good bit of time and work to get in a more acceptable shape. However, with this, it puts us in a better position going forward to streamline and de-gunk a lot of old stuff from the engine - not QUITE yet, but in the near future.

And so, while 3.8 will find itself fairly light-weight on the new and shiney, hopefully everyone that grabs it on our downloads page will find it to be a much more stable platform. We ask that you guys grab it, create some test projects on whatever platforms you have access to, and really rake it over the coals. She's just about ready, but no doubt there are some problems that were missed, and that's where this release candidate comes in.

The RC will run for a week or two to try and squeeze a little bit more polish in, but she's almost there, and we look forward to you guys testing this RC, and then making use of the release!

NOTE: The reason why this is a few days past the 1st, like we were shooting for, is because Linux still lacks save/open dialogs. I've been working to fix this for 3.8, but I've ran into a few problems with it, so it's not currently in the 3.8 RC. I'll keep working on it during the RC testing phase and will have it in for the 3.8 release proper.
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:56 pm
Could you please provide .exe in the templates ?
triggerfish
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:11 am
by triggerfish » Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:43 am
Thanks for this! I was able to install on my Linux Mint 17 system. I'm a beginner. Not sure if I'm giving the engine a true challenge, but is there anything you would like for me to test?
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:34 am
Chelaru wrote:Could you please provide .exe in the templates ?


Whoops! Thanks for catching that, total brainfart on my part. I've added the Windows binaries in.

triggerfish wrote:Thanks for this! I was able to install on my Linux Mint 17 system. I'm a beginner. Not sure if I'm giving the engine a true challenge, but is there anything you would like for me to test?


If you can, one major helper would be if you could toss me a Linux binary so I can add them to the Linux package.

Beyond that, pretty much just test everything you can. Like I'd mentioned, a lot of this release was stability rather than new features, so the more surface area you can poke and prod, the better idea we'll have of how much more stable the whole thing is. Especially on Linux systems, if you can ensure there's as few graphical and input problems as possible, and that the editors seem to work as expected(sans the already mentioned save/load dialogs that are still being worked on) that'd give a good idea of how she's shaping up.

Tl;dr: if you can think of it, give it a poke and see what it does ;) I'd started working on a master test-list on the wiki here

If you think of anything that should be tested, either edit that wiki page to add it in, or mention it here to be added.
triggerfish
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:11 am
by triggerfish » Mon Sep 07, 2015 4:50 pm
JeffR wrote:
If you can, one major helper would be if you could toss me a Linux binary so I can add them to the Linux package.



JeffR I'm not sure what you are asking for here. Do you want me to send you the actual application file that I open to start T3D? What's the best way to send that?
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 694
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:31 pm
triggerfish wrote:
JeffR wrote:
If you can, one major helper would be if you could toss me a Linux binary so I can add them to the Linux package.



JeffR I'm not sure what you are asking for here. Do you want me to send you the actual application file that I open to start T3D? What's the best way to send that?


Correct, that way people on Linux can download and give it a whirl before needing to worry about compiling it themselves.

As for file hosting...hmm. Maybe a dropbox?

I should probably make a public folder on my stuff for cases like this.
triggerfish
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:11 am
by triggerfish » Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:05 pm
JeffR wrote:If you can, one major helper would be if you could toss me a Linux binary so I can add them to the Linux package.



I uploaded it to OneDrive. Here's the link: http://1drv.ms/1KWB1WY
Chelaru
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:33 am
by Chelaru » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:11 pm
The first time you start the level the option menu the Anisotropic Filtering is empty, not even off.
Why can't i use the editor in fullscreen mode?
triggerfish
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:11 am
by triggerfish » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:42 am
Here's what I have tested so far:

Terrain Paint:
New Paint Layer- OK
Slope Mask- OK
AutoPaint- OK

Forest Paint:
Brush follows terrain- OK
Error when trying to paint trees- ../Engine/source/math/mathUtils.cpp(326,0): {Fatal} - MathUtils::randomPointInRadius - something is wrong, should not fail this many times.
When I try to paint trees, I get an error dialog. If I press Ignore, I get one tree. If I press Debug, or Exit, T3D closes.

Scene Tree:
UI locks up when trying to name Basic Clouds (Global u)
I can name the Basic Clouds something without a "u" in the name
Cloud Layer works, but I cannot name it anything with a "u" in the name
Ground Cover works. Applied new texture OK
Cannot drag items from the Library to the scene. I can only add objects if I double click the Library item.

Terrain Editor:
All brushes seem to work

Object Import:
DAE with textures OK
Azaezel
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:50 pm
 
by Azaezel » Tue Sep 08, 2015 3:02 am
triggerfish wrote:Error when trying to paint trees- ../Engine/source/math/mathUtils.cpp(326,0): {Fatal} - MathUtils::randomPointInRadius - something is wrong, should not fail this many times.
When I try to paint trees, I get an error dialog. If I press Ignore, I get one tree. If I press Debug, or Exit, T3D closes.

Scene Tree:
UI locks up when trying to name Basic Clouds (Global u)
I can name the Basic Clouds something without a "u" in the name
Cloud Layer works, but I cannot name it anything with a "u" in the name


Haven't been abvle to repro the pointinradius bit win side. will try lin side tomorrow morning. on the global u, Got: http://i.imgur.com/6wecIj2.png where wasd also moved the player. so looks like she's not properly taking full control for the text edit elements *edit: except for the console, which does seem to be behaving...
44 posts Page 1 of 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest