Torque 3D 3.7 released

59 posts Page 3 of 6
triggerfish
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:11 am
by triggerfish » Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:45 pm
OK, I was able to figure out that I needed to copy the Full template, into the My Projects folder. I then compiled, built, and Ninja. I got an executable file in my game folder along with all the folders like, art, core, levels, scripts, shaders, tools, web. I ran the executable in terminal. The splash screen came up. I clicked on the Empty Room option. Then my screen locked up. I don't know how to attach the full console.log. Seems I'm getting a repeating opengl error that locks up everything.

Code: Select all

OPENGL: GL_INVALID_OPERATION error generated. <location> is invalid.


I'm getting that message about 1000 times. Please let me know if you need more information. I'm newbie, but I'll try to figure out how to get the info.

Thanks!
Last edited by triggerfish on Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
andi_s
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:26 am
Duion wrote:When you say you get 20fps outside and I get 45fps outside and you have a R9 270x and I have a R9 280x you can get some comparison charts between those.


Yes maybe it's jsut the Card. However, I still think the Performance is really low. Is this a generel Problem of T3D right now? Performancewise, how does it compare to other engines? I think it's quite important for T3D to offer a good Performance also on low end Hardware.
Duion
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:58 am
The 280x is is only around 10%-50% faster than the 270x depending on the game, so no idea why you only get 20fps while I get 45fps outside. May depend on the other hardware or the scene, since the demo has physics and sometimes when a lot of physics is going on this can kill the framerate.
Torque overall may be slower but you can still optimize it easily for lower hardware, you just have to leave out the more advanced features. Things like realtime lighting and postfx systems use the most performace.
andi_s
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:31 am
Duion, how many fps do you get in a Standard full template Project?
Duion
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:35 am
You mean the default empty desert?
Duion
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:38 am
160-180 fps on max settings.
andi_s
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:54 am
Strange...I only get 90 to 100. What CPU are you running and which OS?
andi_s
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:55 am
And the latest AMD Drivers?
Duion
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:56 am
Win7 on i7 4770k
andi_s
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:12 pm
by andi_s » Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:14 am
Thanks Duion. I think it's mainly the cpu then. Granted, my pc is by far not the latest and greatest, but still it's disapointing how slow T3D is.
59 posts Page 3 of 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests