Source code problem

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
Allangator
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:17 pm
by Allangator » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:41 pm
Hi,
I have the source code files for a game that i need to get back into the torque engine.
It is the complete project although it can't just be placed in the my projects file as the "package" was opened up to access the files.

How do i pull this back into torque ?

Thanks in Advance,
Allangator.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:49 am
I'm having a bit of trouble understanding what you mean. Can you clarify what you mean by the 'package'?
Allangator
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:17 pm
by Allangator » Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:19 pm
Sorry for the confusion. I assumed that was the easier way to explain....lol

the older versions of the project manager/torque toolbox had a "Package project" option and just assumed that was still the way to transfer the source code.
Image

But i received the full game source code, and need to get it into torque.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:48 pm
If you're just asking about the standard arrangement for the source code in relation to the game's files, usually you have the Engine folder, which contains the bin, lib and source folders. Source contains the actual engine source code.
Then you have the My Projects folder, which contains a folder named after your project, and inside that is a game and source folder. The source folder there contains project-specific code, and a torqueConfig.h file which is used for configuration of some settings for the engine. game contains the actual game files.

If you're just trying to copy everything you need so other people can use it, just zipping up the entire directory with the engine, my projects, templates and tools folders and all that stuff will let other people utilize your game + source code as needed. If you want to ONLY hand out the game, you'd just copy the game folder from inside My Projects/<Your Project Name>/

Does that explain it?
Allangator
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:17 pm
by Allangator » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:45 pm
It gives me something to work with, Thank you
5 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest