Mountains in the background

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
  • 1
  • 2
15 posts Page 1 of 2
subabrain
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:21 pm
Hello friends,

i have a little question again :P

i just want to ask how i can do an effect to make "mountains" in the skybox, so its like there are mountains in the background ...


thanks for answers!

greetings
Robert
Steve_Yorkshire
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:30 pm
 
by Steve_Yorkshire » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:33 pm
1: make a skybox which features mountains
2: use a bigger terrain mesh and make mountains on the edges
3: make a small model of mountains with a hole in the middle and no collisions then scale it really big in the editor so it surrounds your terrain and looks like mountains in the distance (how CoD did it).
Online Duion
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:51 pm
You can also make a big terrain in torque, screenshot it in all directions, then make a skybox out of it in an image editing program, I did this once, but was a complicated method with lots of work.
subabrain
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:30 pm
Hi,

okay - ill try - thanks a lot!

Best Regards!
Robert
subabrain
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:58 pm
 
by subabrain » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:00 pm
Hi there,

i found something really cool:

http://www.custommapmakers.org/skyboxes.php

there you can download custom skyboxes ready for cubemapping ;)

here a little screenshot:

Image

its working very well :)


Greetz
Robert
Steve_Yorkshire
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:30 pm
 
by Steve_Yorkshire » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:14 pm
Reminds me of Terregen - which incidentally is another way of making custom skyboxes with mountains.
Online Duion
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:44 am
Skyboxes are not really needed anymore, they were mostly relevant in old times where computers were slow, now you can make a real big mesh terrain as background without that much cost.
Dwarf King
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:19 am
Duion wrote:Skyboxes are not really needed anymore, they were mostly relevant in old times where computers were slow, now you can make a real big mesh terrain as background without that much cost.


But still skyboxes are more easy to set up than some huge terrains. It is also much faster. Also it makes your game more play-able on computers with lower specs. I for one prefer Skyboxes over big terrain. In that way I can control the sucking memory demon from draining all the energy from a small laptop. You see that is awesome. Skyboxes are therefore great tools to create a believable illusion of something great in the horizon with.

Skyboxes has also been used in games such as Dragon Age: Origin. For the trained eye such things are easy to spot ;)
Online Duion
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:13 am
If you use premade skyboxes yes they are easy to "make", but if you want to make your own it is quite a complicated process to create them, popping in another terrain is much easier.
Dwarf King
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:20 pm
by Dwarf King » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:40 pm
Duion wrote:If you use premade skyboxes yes they are easy to "make", but if you want to make your own it is quite a complicated process to create them, popping in another terrain is much easier.


Well yes I use pre-made and customized skyboxes. Makes using skyboxes into a dream in the Torque 3D engine :D
  • 1
  • 2
15 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest