NEED HELP, how to add a self-defined input device

baileyange

Hi everyone,

I am new to Torque3D.

We have developed a input device simillar to Oculus, and we want to add our input's SDK to Torque3D so the game created by Torque3D would work with our device.

I would like to know how to add out SDK.

I check the current version (3.7) which supports Leapmotion, and Oculus. However, I am blocked at some points when reading the codes. I would like to know a general way, or steps, then I can learn it myself. But I dont know where to start.

Hope somebody can help me, and thx in advance.

I never did finish the Myo implementation (biggest issue was that it was queueing data when game was minimized) but you can find my implementation here.

Alternately I simplified it to show the gist of it here. (Untested code)

I am by no means a guru of input devices, so I'm not much of a help, but that should give you somewhere to begin. What I did was to simply copy and paste the LeapMotion code, and replace the all the Leap stuff (you'll find residue in there though because I never cleaned it properly).

Edit:

That should, btw, bind "orientation" to the "xxx" device, used like this in TorqueScript:

moveMap.bind( xxx, orientation, orientationReceived);

Example:

function printOrientation(%roll, %pitch, %yaw, %angle)
{
   echo(%roll SPC %pitch SPC %yaw SPC %angle);
}
GlobalActionMap.bind(xxx, orientation, printOrientation);

I never did finish the Myo implementation (biggest issue was that it was queueing data when game was minimized) but you can find my implementation here.

I am by no means a guru of input devices, so I'm not much of a help, but that should give you somewhere to begin. What I did was to simply copy and paste the LeapMotion code, and replace the all the Leap stuff (you'll find residue in there though because I never cleaned it properly).

Edit:

That should, btw, bind "orientation" to the "xxx" device, used like this in TorqueScript:

Example:

{
}