Can Torque3D be used as a 3D engine for a flight simulator?

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
  • 1
  • 2
12 posts Page 1 of 2
abassign
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:32 pm
by abassign » Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:53 pm
Development for Flightgear, an open source simulator, similar to X-Plane, but with a GNU license. I was thinking of using the Flightgear Flight Engine (FDM) to build something like this using the Torque3D engine.

In flight simulators the arena is very large, indeed very large ... it is the entire Earth planet 0 mt on the ground up to 1000-10000 km of altitude. The motosports are generated from the altimetric data of some powered Creative Commons licenses, such as Open Street Map. The weather situation is dynamically generated following real-time weather forecasting etc ... Airplanes are quite complex and are described with an XML code for animations of the various parts.

This is an example: Image

And this is an airplane on fly in this arena:

Image

The problem is that Flightgear has reached a situation that does not allow a further evolution of the 3D rendering engine, so it seems helpful to see if there are alternatives.

I'd like to know if you think we can use Torque3D for this work.

Thanks for your advice!

Our wiki:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Main_Page

Our forum:
https://forum.flightgear.org/

My Blog for Italy:
https://www.facebook.com/flightgearitalia
Duion
Posts: 844
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:47 pm
Sure it can, why not?

The only problem is, you get the problem with floating point imprecissions that happen after at around 10km in any direction, but this is probably an issue with all engines.
This would be the main problem to solve.
Then you would need some kind of terrain pager that extends the gameworld procedurally.

How does flightgear handle this currently? You could just try to make a prototype in Torque and see how it works, should not take that long.

I think someone already started a flight simulator kind of game with Torque3D check out Chris Calefs work: https://github.com/ChrisCalef?tab=repositories if you search his repositories he has multiple projects related to that.
chriscalef
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:00 am
Well, hey there! I guess my ears were burning, but I randomly popped back in here and saw this!

@
User avatar
abassign
: I like where you're heading! As Duion mentioned, I did a fairly significant amount of work in this direction, which has been somewhat on the back burner now for a while but I'd love to compare notes.

The direction I took was A) a terrain pager, using flightgear as a source for terrain data over a socket connection to my running Torque instance. My implementation was far from perfect (among other things it desperately needs to be threaded, so the game engine doesn't pause while new terrain tiles are loading) but it did provide a walkable/flyable T3D copy of the FlightGear terrain, broken into (I think) 2.56 km square tiles.

And then for the aircraft, I used B) the UDP streaming capability of FG to give me position and orientation of the aircraft, which I then hooked up to drive FG aircraft models, imported into Torque through the collada format. For animations, I got far enough to do things like rotate the helicopter blades according to the rotation speed exported from FG, and switching between the rotor models of single blades to the transparent disc-like shapes as speed increased.

I didn't solve the floating point precision problem once and for all, but worked around it for local flights by centering my local map at a local origin and working outward from there. For long distance flights there would have to be a way to shift everything to a new local origin when the player gets too far away from the last one.

Here are a couple of videos documenting some parts of what I got done:

This one is a KA50 helicopter with working textures and rotors, sitting on the ground spinning up the engine:
https://vimeo.com/151305170

This is an earlier version, with no rotors or textures, but an example of the flight dynamics:
https://vimeo.com/147692291

And here's one with a fixed wing aircraft, the Dragonfly ultralight:
https://vimeo.com/147553155

The programmer art is strong in these, but if you've spent much time in FlightGear you might appreciate some of the subtleties like the crisp, clear working shadow of the aircraft on the ground. :-) One of the main motivations for me in doing this was to create an environment where users could fly all (or at least some number of) the FG aircraft in the presence of skinned, convincing human models with actual animations. I'd love to see (or create) a low flying, air vs. ground combat simulation, for example, using FG for the flight dynamics and Torque for the animated characters, particle effects, and everything else.

Anyway, welcome to the forums, and thanks for your shared interest! Best of luck and let me know if I can help!

Cheers,
Chris
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:57 pm
I would have to say if anyone is serious about doing a flight sim project with T3D i would highly recommend writing a new terrain system to work with it, the current system is just not going to cut it for that kind of thing. @
User avatar
chriscalef
has the right idea above about a threaded system that supports paging. The current terrain system is ok for small/medium size terrains but is very outdated now compared to some of the more advanced and faster algorithms out there. GPU-based geometry clipmaps would be far better suited for the job in this case.

Edit: T3D actually did have a terrain system back before the engine was open-sourced that handled large sizes with paging etc, i'm not really sure why it didn't make it into the MIT version? i suspect a licensing issue, i'm sure @
User avatar
JeffR
would know more details about that. Either way that obviously doesn't really help ya though but the engine is capable of it, it does have threading classes etc, it's just a matter of someone taking the time to write such a system.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:34 pm
The main reason is there were basically no editor tools for it. I know one guy had a tool that generated the atlas terrains, but there wasn't anything like the live terrain editor. You generated the terrain via some sort of third party utility, and loaded it. It was pretty much a 3d model, of a sort. You could do editing of the megatexture it used(as the atlas terrain did use clipmaps) in whatever image editing tool you wanted, but again there was no in-engine toolset to edit them.

So the underlying tech was awesome and efficient, but you couldn't easily work with it, so the workflow of utilizing it was sub-par. So while parts of it(like the clipmap, paging) could definitely be carried up to use in the current or new terrain, atlas itself as a whole package definitely wouldn't be the best. Worth checking on for parts/components though...
chriscalef
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:53 am
Hey Jeff, is there still a publicly available repo that includes atlas? I can't remember where along the way it dropped off.
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:26 am
chriscalef wrote:Hey Jeff, is there still a publicly available repo that includes atlas? I can't remember where along the way it dropped off.


As above very sure it was a licensing issue, it never was released with any MIT versions of T3D. If you own a copy of TGEA you would be able to port the atlas terrain code to the latest T3D but you wouldn't be able to make it open source though.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:31 pm
Yeah, as Timmy said, it was dropped well long ago. I'm pretty sure it was dropped when they shifted from TGEA to T3D. But if you have any builds of TGEA, then the atlas code will be in there.
HeadClot
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 1:29 am
by HeadClot » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:13 pm
Does anyone want to take a crack at a tool like Atlas?

I know that @
User avatar
chriscalef
did some stuff with terrain paging a while back.

I would be more than willing to help in terms of art.
chriscalef
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:41 pm
All I can say on that subject is that I was there at Garage Games while Ben Garney was working on Atlas, and that he did a tremendous amount of work on it, but it still never got rolled into Torque, because of what I gathered were escalating complications and issues without easy fixes.

And given that I consider Ben Garney to be a much better programmer than I am, I would hesitate to dive into it now and try to bring it up to speed. While I never dove in to the subject deep enough to know what the exact issues were, I didn't have the impression that it was just a few little tweaks away from prime time. I could probably get Ben to give us more information about it if people want, but that was my general impression.

For my own work, I'm resigned at least for now to concentrating on alternate methods to create the illusion of infinite terrain, such as dynamic skyboxes, or possibly a giant low res terrain that we can cut out holes from and replace with local terrains.

I'd absolutely love it if we had somebody show up and fix the problem once and for all, though! Just saying get ready, it's not an easy one.
  • 1
  • 2
12 posts Page 1 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest