Strange T3D 3.10 Problem.

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
74 posts Page 8 of 8
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:52 pm
BOS wrote:
Johxz wrote:Hi @
User avatar
BOS


Sorry I not read all the posts, apologize me, it seems you have some problem running and compiling T3D, right?

not sure if you already saw my post, you can download T3D ready to use, just double click and run. (Including stable and development)

You can go here: http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=665 even in the same repo you have the official documentation for download too. Give it a try.

If you need something else for this releases not hesitate tell me.


That's not a problem at all.

I've downloaded the files and will let you know how they run.

I think the problem with the CMake build is that there are files missing from the engine source folder.

VS2017 keeps failing to build too. So I guess files are missing.


I can assure you there is nothing missing. Honestly as a developer of T3D, i would have compiled the engine well over a 1000 times this year alone across windows/linux and macOS.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:12 am
@
User avatar
BOS


As Timmy said, the files are good, but we could be looking at some odd combination of configurations going wrong that's making the projects not generate right.

Catching up, I noted that you're trying to build 3.10 in VS2017. It sounded like after you got the DX SDK installed, cmake (seemingly) generated right, but the project still fails to compile. That sum it up?

Could you copy the entire compile log into a text file and upload it so we can look over the particular errors? If you're compiling 3.10, there's a good chance you're running into a bug with VS2017's comiler that we only recently patched a workaround into, so that could very well be part of your problem. Also, feel free to try John's precompiled binaries as well. If those run, that at least means your system has the required runtimes and we can work our way from there :)
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:22 am
@
User avatar
BOS
. Yes my apologies, @
User avatar
JeffR
is correct, i forgot about that. If you are compiling the source code with Visual Studio 2017, only the latest development branch will work. Version 3.10 and earlier VS 2017 is not supported due to a bug in VS 20017 itself, you will have to use VS 2015 for T3D 3.10 and earlier.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:57 am
Specifically, the error rails on about templates and stuff like that.

If it ends up being that error, the workaround fix is pretty simple:

https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/commit/ef1edd375116c6ab1dffb9ba30620353439b5afd
and https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D/commit/7cc0373b4829a692339d1ab66c60de045d212abf

Pop those two changes in there and it'll work with 2017 - barring any other oddball issues that may have happened, of course :)
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
74 posts Page 8 of 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest