Strange T3D 3.10 Problem.

There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
74 posts Page 7 of 8
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:16 am
Timmy wrote:Luckily that is a very easy fix, you need to download and install the old June 2010 DirectXSDK. You can get it here https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=6812 . After you have installed, reboot your PC, run cmake again to make sure it picks up those new directx sdk paths and it will compile just fine :D

On a general note, future versions of T3D such as the development version do not require the old deprecated DirectXSDK unless you really want to run XAudio. T3D versions 3.10 and earlier do require it


This is fantastic.

Can't wait to try it.

Thanks a lot for this.
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:36 am
Setup of DX failed.

Error Code S1023
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:43 am
BOS wrote:Setup of DX failed.

Error Code S1023


Sorry forgot to log in and check ya progress, don't worry this is easy to fix too, it is rather annoying when this happens, it has happened on numerous windows installs for me, so much so i bookmarked the fix lol.

Anyway open a command prompt as an admin and issue these two commands, than reinstall the directx sdk. The problem is caused by the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86/x64 Redistributables. The below command just removes them. than you can reinstall them from here after ya install the directx sdk

MsiExec.exe /passive /X{F0C3E5D1-1ADE-321E-8167-68EF0DE699A5}
MsiExec.exe /passive /X{1D8E6291-B0D5-35EC-8441-6616F567A0F7}
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:20 am
Timmy wrote:
BOS wrote:Setup of DX failed.

Error Code S1023


Sorry forgot to log in and check ya progress, don't worry this is easy to fix too, it is rather annoying when this happens, it has happened on numerous windows installs for me, so much so i bookmarked the fix lol.

Anyway open a command prompt as an admin and issue these two commands, than reinstall the directx sdk. The problem is caused by the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86/x64 Redistributables. The below command just removes them. than you can reinstall them from here after ya install the directx sdk

MsiExec.exe /passive /X{F0C3E5D1-1ADE-321E-8167-68EF0DE699A5}
MsiExec.exe /passive /X{1D8E6291-B0D5-35EC-8441-6616F567A0F7}


No problem. Will do this later today.
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:08 pm
BOS wrote:
Timmy wrote:
BOS wrote:Setup of DX failed.

Error Code S1023


Sorry forgot to log in and check ya progress, don't worry this is easy to fix too, it is rather annoying when this happens, it has happened on numerous windows installs for me, so much so i bookmarked the fix lol.

Anyway open a command prompt as an admin and issue these two commands, than reinstall the directx sdk. The problem is caused by the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86/x64 Redistributables. The below command just removes them. than you can reinstall them from here after ya install the directx sdk

MsiExec.exe /passive /X{F0C3E5D1-1ADE-321E-8167-68EF0DE699A5}
MsiExec.exe /passive /X{1D8E6291-B0D5-35EC-8441-6616F567A0F7}


No problem. Will do this later today.


In case anyone else stumbles across this thread, with the next version of T3D (4.0 or the current development branch), the old DX sdk is not required unless you want xaudio/directsound, so in cmake you can simply do this(un-tick TORQUE_SFX_directx in the advanced section) and no more deprecated DX sdk required. As before, T3D 3.10 or earlier does require the DX SDK for the Direct3D9 gfx device and obviously xaudio/directsound.

Image
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:49 pm
The DX 2010 installer freezes when I run it.

I run the command line uninstalls.

And now the installer just keep freezing even after running it like an admin.
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:53 pm
Ok it finally unfroze. so it's installing now.
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:39 pm
Sadly. Nothing worked after all the new setups.

3.8 is the only version that works without crashing.
Johxz
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 11:37 pm
by Johxz » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:08 am
Hi @
User avatar
BOS


Sorry I not read all the posts, apologize me, it seems you have some problem running and compiling T3D, right?

not sure if you already saw my post, you can download T3D ready to use, just double click and run. (Including stable and development)

You can go here: http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=665 even in the same repo you have the official documentation for download too. Give it a try.

If you need something else for this releases not hesitate tell me.
BOS
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:56 am
by BOS » Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:54 am
Johxz wrote:Hi @
User avatar
BOS


Sorry I not read all the posts, apologize me, it seems you have some problem running and compiling T3D, right?

not sure if you already saw my post, you can download T3D ready to use, just double click and run. (Including stable and development)

You can go here: http://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=665 even in the same repo you have the official documentation for download too. Give it a try.

If you need something else for this releases not hesitate tell me.


That's not a problem at all.

I've downloaded the files and will let you know how they run.

I think the problem with the CMake build is that there are files missing from the engine source folder.

VS2017 keeps failing to build too. So I guess files are missing.
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
74 posts Page 7 of 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest