DarkUI status?

Scripting questions, discussions, etc
  • 1
  • 2
20 posts Page 2 of 2
Duion
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:01 am
My GuiMenuBarProfile:

Code: Select all

singleton GuiControlProfile( GuiMenuBarProfile )
{
   fillColor = "32 32 32 255";
   fillColorHL = "72 72 72 255";
   fillColorNA = "18 18 18 255";
   borderColor = "98 163 229";
   borderColorHL = "122 177 232";
   
   fontColor = "196 196 196 255";
   fontColorSEL = "212 212 212 255";
   fontColorHL = "255 255 255 255";
   fontColorNA = "128 128 128 255";
   
   border = 0;
   borderThickness = 1;
   opaque = true;
   mouseOverSelected = true;
   category = "Editor";
   bitmap = "tools/gui/images/checkbox-menubar";
};
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:50 am
Eek! Now I remember why I never mess with Torque GUI profiles. :shock:

Not sure what's going wrong, but I copied your code into my profiles.ed.cs and made sure my menubars were using that profile. When I run it, I can verify that the gui created in guiPlatformGenericMenubar.ed.cs was indeed created, and that it thinks it is visible, and that it is indeed using GuiMenuBarProfile as its profile, and that the profile it says it is using has font color and fill color matching those of DarkUI, not stock Torque.

However, the appearance of the menubar is unchanged.

I figured there must be some competing menubar profile somewhere, but I found and replaced "menubarProfile" and "editorMenubarProfile" to no avail.

Is SDL2 something automatic or do I have to ask for it in CMake?
Duion
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:32 am
You have to switch it on in Cmake of course.
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:24 pm
Ha, sorry, temporarily forgot what SDL even was in my single minded devotion to purpose. But yay, menubar works now! Thanks for the help.

Any other great things I might notice now that I'm using SDL? Or is it all just invisibly smoother and better?

EDIT: uh oh, first new thing I noticed is a bug! I'm running a few weeks behind now in my T3D build, I'll check to see if a brand new build has this fixed yet, but do you notice that with SDL turned on your window docking no longer works properly in the editors? I get windows docking at about a menu bar's thickness below where they should be. In the shot below, the scene and inspector windows on the right are "docked".

Image
Duion
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:38 pm
The SDL flag probably should be enabled by default in Cmake.
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:30 am
I think it might have been, once I updated to current HEAD. I do still see that docking behavior on a vanilla build with SDL, though. Anybody else seeing it?
Duion
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:51 am
 
by Duion » Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:50 pm
I never noticed any docking behavior at all in any of the versions, did I miss anything?
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:47 pm
I mean window docking, when you're in the world editor, and you drag the Inspector window over near the bottom of the Scene window, and it snaps to the bottom - that's worked forever, but now in my SDL version it snaps to about the width of the menu bar below where it is supposed to be.

Not a critical mission fail bug, but definitely something likely to be noticed. I suppose I should make an actual post about it or file a bug report instead of hijacking my DarkUI thread...
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:03 pm
Yes chris you are correct, this is another small bug with sdl enabled. I personally don't think the T3D implementation of sdl is ready to replace the winAPI just yet, there are numerous other small bugs with it too (nothing overly dramatic but bugs none the less). If it were my decision it wouldn't be the default on windows just yet.
JeffR
Steering Committee
Steering Committee
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:49 pm
 
by JeffR » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:26 pm
Can't say I'd spotted that issue before. but thanks for pointing it out. I'll definitely have a look at it.
  • 1
  • 2
20 posts Page 2 of 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest