Oh, this again - conflict over "StringTable" between T3D and PhysX

Expanding and utilizing the engine via C++.
60 posts Page 5 of 6
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:00 am
Ah, that's good to know, I tried to make it work too, but ran into conflicts in tsMesh that I had no idea how to resolve. I hammered on it for a while but ended up resetting tsMesh and dropping the cloth files out of my build.
deathbravo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:06 am
by deathbravo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:22 am
ok, I am now looking at UE's repo and flex
deathbravo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:06 am
by deathbravo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:40 am
but flex runs only on CUDA
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:56 am
Yep so it's rather useless to be honest ;)

Anyway @
User avatar
chriscalef
i have chucked up the physx 3.3 cmake files here with an updated branch https://github.com/rextimmy/Torque3D/tree/physx3 . Hopefully no dramas in the future, just compile physx 3.3 yourself still but in cmake no environment variables, just point cmake to the root folder of physx folder you cloned and away you go.

If anyone has trouble compiling physx with VS 2015 with update 3, see this for a simple fix https://github.com/NVIDIAGameWorks/PhysX-3.3/issues/49
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:02 am
For anyone trying to get it to work, here is the folder setup, just choose the base path and it will detect the rest

Image

*edit:

Oh yeah don't forgot in Visual Studio after you compile T3D to build the install project, this copies the physx dll's into place, it won't work without it.
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:46 am
@
User avatar
deathbravo
i'm sorry i told a huge big fat porkie, the cloth has not been deprecated in physx 3.4, it's only the particles that have. The cloth stuff from that old advanced physx branch would need adapting to work with tsMesh properly now as a few things have changed in that class since gpu skinning was introduced. I'll see how the motivation levels go, if i build up enough i'll fix it all up.
deathbravo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:06 am
by deathbravo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:06 am
Thanks Timmy,
I have seen the source code of physx 3.4 in UE's repo.
If the problem is caused by modified tsMesh, I think I am not too far from solution.
Timmy
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:13 am
If ya going to use physx 3.4, grab my physx_34 branch, nvidia changed a few things up with it and the current physx plugin in t3d won't compile with 3.4
deathbravo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:06 am
by deathbravo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:17 pm
thanks again Timmy,
I want to make 3.3 works at first.
I am progressively studying the engine
chriscalef
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:45 pm
Thanks for all your work, guys! I've been busy AFK this week but hope to jump on my problems again this weekend. After looking through the physx samples it seems that I may be manufacturing my rigid actors with antiquated syntax, I'm going to do an overhaul there and see if it fixes my collision problems.
60 posts Page 5 of 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest