[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5150: file_get_contents(https://freedomsponsors.org/api/project/294): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 502 Bad Gateway
Oh, this again - conflict over "StringTable" between T3D and PhysX - Page 2 - Forums | Torque 3D

Oh, this again - conflict over "StringTable" between T3D and PhysX

Expanding and utilizing the engine via C++.
60 posts Page 2 of 6
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:35 am
Ah, I see. I actually did get approved already and downloaded and built the 3.4 project (after one hiccup which I found fixed on the forums, here: https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topi ... =3#5037883).

But if 3.3 is the stable version, sure, let's go with that!

One more question though, if I'm building a 32 bit T3D build do I need to build 32 bit PhysX as well?
Timmy
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:54 am
oh if ya got 3.4 than go for it, you need the other changes too from that branch, there are interface changes with 3.4. Yep if building t3d 32bit you gotta build physx 32 bit. If using 3.4, the cmake file for that does not require that environment variable set and you must point cmake to /where_you_cloned_physx (not the sub-directory called PhysXSDK)

Do note i haven't enabled any of the gpu rigid body stuff in physx 3.4 branch, i don't have an nvidia card to test it on.
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:30 pm
Okay, cool, I'll make sure I have the 32 bit version of 3.4 and give it another shot, that was probably the source of the last round of errors I got then.

Back on that file though, yeah I know about PVD in general, but where did pvd/PxPvd.h come from? Maybe it'll pop up on this round of 3.4 clones but so far I can't haven't seen that particular file in any version of physx.
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:11 pm
EDIT: Chris is moving too fast and failing to read all the instructions: my path problems were all solved by step 3 of Timmy's instructions: make an environment variable called TORQUE_PHYSX3_PATH and point it at your PhysicsSDK directory. Still unknown why I can't clone the NVidia repos directly, but that doesn't seem to be my problem.

Huh, weird. Tried to eliminate all the variables, by building my 32 bit version right in my main tree for the PhysX download, but I'm still getting a whole list of physx libraries not found, which I assume is related to the problem of my projects not being set up pointing at the include and lib folders. What my install looks like is:

F:/PhysX/PhysX-3.3-master/PhysXSDK, APEXSDK, etc.

I'm assuming that master directory is what I want to point at, right above APEXSDK and PhysXSDK?

For some reason I can't clone the NVidia repos, they always report as not existing, even though I have my user.name and .email set up to match the github account that they allowed into their program. Don't know what's up with that, but I was able to download the zipped version so I'm running with that.

(EDIT: also, back on the path variables, I have seen PHYSX3_BASE_PATH as well as TORQUE_PHYSX_PATH, do I still need either or both of them? Setting them both to that master directory, but no love yet.)
Last edited by chriscalef on Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:22 pm
Ah, right, derp! I was still missing step 3, comes under RTFM at that point. :-P Still compiling, but things are going much better now! Got all my libs and include directories, got all my physx3 code.

Thanks again for sticking with me, you're a lifesaver!

EDIT: oh, except, on compile, we're back to that PxPvd.h file. Nothing like that anywhere in my PhysX master download tree. I have a visual debugger install file in there, which I ran, but do I need to separately check out the git repo for it or something?
Timmy
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:41 pm
Which version are we using there chris, physx 3.3 or 3.4 ? The method is slightly different with physx 3.4 due to the changes nvidia have made in 3.4.
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:44 pm
I'm on 3.4 now.

I get the following error:

Code: Select all

   Cannot open include file: 'pvd/PxPvd.h': No such file or directory (compiling source file F:\T3D\rextimmy\Engine\source\T3D\physics\physx3\px3Collision.cpp)   MegaMotion   F:\T3D\rextimmy\Engine\source\T3D\physics\physx3\px3.h


When I look in pvd folder, sure enough, nothing like that, either in 3.3.1, 3.3.2, or my new 3.3.4 build. Which otherwise seemed to build and install fine.
Last edited by chriscalef on Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Timmy
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:20 am
by Timmy » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:46 pm
Have you got the modified physx plugin too from https://github.com/rextimmy/Torque3D/tree/physx_34 and not just the cmake file?
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:48 pm
Oh, uh, lemme check that. I am building a clone of your 3.4 repo, so if it would be in there I should have it.
chriscalef
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:48 pm
by chriscalef » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:52 pm
Ah, hold on, I may have screwed up the module_physx3 cmake file, doh! Starting again...
60 posts Page 2 of 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests